2001 Profile of the division of Lingiari

Updated: 9 February 2011


Northern Territory

Name Derivation:

Named in honour of Vincent Lingiari OAM (1908–1988) who was a member of the Gurindji people from the Victoria River District. He was a stockman and a land rights leader who worked for many years to improve conditions for Aboriginal people working on cattle stations. Mr Lingiari was awarded an Order of Australia Medal for services to Aboriginal people.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 1 347 849 sq km of the Northern Territory and both the Christmas and Cocos Islands.

Products/Industries of the area:

Cattle, tourism, horticulture, fishing, light industry in Alice Springs, bauxite, copper, gold and uranium mining.

First Proclaimed

2000 (previously part of the division of Northern Territory – 1922 – see below)


Warren Snowdon (ALP) 2001–

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Previous Members for the Division of Northern Teritory

  • W Snowdon (ALP) 1998–2001
  • N Dondas (CLP) 1996–98
  • W E Snowdon (ALP) 1987–96
  • P Everingham (CLP) 1984–87
  • J E Reeves (ALP) 1983–84
  • G E J Tambling (NCP/NP) 1980–83
  • S E Calder (CP/NCP) 1966–80
  • J N Nelson (ALP) 1949–66
  • A MacAlister Blair (IND) 1934–49
  • H G Nelson (ALP) 1922–34
Statistical information
10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 57 077

Informal Vote: 4.87%

Turnout: 80.55%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 55.29%
  • CLP: 44.71%