2001 Profile of the division of Lalor

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Peter Lalor (1827–1889), leader of the Eureka Stockade rebellion in 1854. In 1855 he was elected to the Victorian Legislative Council (one of the first representatives elected from the goldfields).

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 653 sq km from Melton Reservoir in the north to Little River in the south and from Altona in the east to Balliang East in the west.

The main suburbs and towns include Altona, Altona Meadows, Altona North, Ardeer, Balliang East, Cocoroc, Exford, Eynesbury, Hoppers Crossing, Laverton, Laverton North, Little River, Mambourin, Parwan, Point Cook, Quandong, Seabrook, Seaholme, Sunshine West, Tarneit, Truganina, Werribee, Werribee South, and Wyndham Vale.

Products/Industries of the area:

Petrochemical and heavy industries, small industries, market gardening, grazing and cropping.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Julia Gillard (ALP) 1998–
  • B Jones (ALP) 1977–98
  • J F Cairns (ALP) 1969–77
  • M W Lee (LP) 1966–69
  • R T Pollard (ALP) 1949–66

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 81 299

Informal Vote: 3.37%

Turnout: 96.43%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 69.82%
  • LP: 30.18%

Enrolment: 84 586

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 1.14%
  • Preamble Question 1.20%


  • Republic Question 96.02%
  • Preamble Question 96.05%

Enrolment: 89 277

Informal Vote: 4.35%

Turnout: 95.72%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 65.63%
  • LP: 34.37%