2001 Profile of the division of Higgins

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the Hon. Henry Higgins (1851–1929), Member of House of Representatives (1901–1906), Justice of the High Court (1906–1929), and President of the new Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Court (1907–1921).

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 39 sq km from Oakleigh in the south east, South Yarra and Toorak in the north west, Prahran in the south east, Camberwell in the north east, and Ashburton in the east.

The main suburbs include Armadale, Ashburton, Chadstone, Glen Iris, Malvern, Malvern East, Toorak. parts of Burwood, Burwood West, Camberwell, Carnegie, Murrumbeena, Oakleigh, Prahran and South Yarra.

Products/Industries of the area:

The division is mainly residential, with retail and commercial interests in a number of suburbs.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Peter Costello (LP) 1990–
  • R F Shipton (LP) 1975–90
  • J G Gorton (LP/IND) 1968–75
  • H E Holt (LP) 1949–67

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 84 801

Informal Vote: 3.01%

Turnout: 94.08%

Seat Status: Fairly safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 40.38%
  • LP: 59.62%

Enrolment: 87 395

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.81%
  • Preamble Question 0.82%


  • Republic Question 93.89%
  • Preamble Question 93.86%

Enrolment: 88 043

Informal Vote: 2.68%

Turnout: 93.11%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 41.61%
  • LP: 58.39%