2001 Profile of the division of Hasluck

Updated: 9 February 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Paul Hasluck (1905–93), Diplomat, Cabinet Minister and the only Western Australian born Governor-General of Australia, and his wife, Dame Alexandra Hasluck (1908–93) who, in addition to being a noted author, also held office as National President of the Girl Guides Association and the Australian Red Cross while at Government House in Canberra.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 227 sq km from Caversham in the north to Gosnells in the south and is bordered by the foothills of the Darling Range to the east and the Midland to Kwinana freight rail line to the west.

The division includes the majority of the City of Gosnells, the western portion of the Shire of Kalamunda and parts of the Shire of Mundaring and City of Swan. It includes the suburbs of Gosnells, Kalamunda, Maddington, Midland and Thornlie.

Products/Industries of the area:

Mainly retail, transport and service industries with some light industry, market gardens and vineyards.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Sharryn Jackson (ALP) 2001–

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 78 418

Informal Vote: 5.8%

Turnout: 95.21%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 51.78%
  • LP: 48.22%