2001 Profile of the division of Ballarat

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Ballarat. The name is apparently derived from the Aboriginal word 'balaarat' meaning a resting or camping place.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 8816 sq km from Glenorchy and Marnoo in the north west to Ballan in the south west.

Its main centres are Ballarat, the State's largest inland city, and Stawell in the west. It also includes the towns of Avoca, Ballan, Blackwood, Burrumbeet, Buninyong, Clunes, Creswick, Daylesford, Glenorchy, Lexton, Marnoo, Navarre, Redbank and Talbot. Ballarat shares boundaries with the divisions of Bendigo and Mallee in the north, Burke in the east, Corangamite and Corio in the south and Wannon in the west.

Products/Industries of the area:

Primary industries include beef cattle, sheep, wheat, oats, barley, wine, mineral water and gold mining. Secondary industries include tourism, clothing and fabrics, sawmilling, engineering and confectionery.

First Proclaimed



  • Catherine King (ALP) 2001–
  • M Ronaldson (LP) 1990–2001
  • J B Mildren (ALP) 1980–90
  • J R Short (LP) 1975–80
  • G D Erwin (LP) 1955–75
  • R Joshua (ALP) 1951–55
  • A C Pittard (LP) 1949–51
  • R T Pollard (ALP) 1937–49
  • A C W Fisken (UAP) 1934–37
  • D C McGrath (ALP/UAP) 1920–34
  • E T J Kerby (NAT) 1919–20
  • D C McGrath (ALP) 1913–19
  • A Deakin (PROT/LIB) 1901–13

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 81 818

Informal Vote: 3.55%

Turnout: 96.73%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 47.23%
  • LP: 52.77%

Enrolment: 83 847

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.79%
  • Preamble Question 0.83%


  • Republic Question 96.33%
  • Preamble Question 96.30%

Enrolment: 85 877

Informal Vote: 2.88%

Turnout: 96.58%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 52.73%
  • LP: 47.27%