Electoral Newsfile 91: 1999 Redistribution of Federal Electoral Boundaries - Final Boundaries for Tasmania

Updated: 10 February 2011

On 14 April 1999, the Electoral Commission directed that a redistribution of electoral boundaries commence in Tasmania. The redistribution was triggered as seven years had elapsed since Tasmania was last redistributed. Further details of the 1999 redistribution process for Tasmania are in Electoral Newsfile numbers 80 and 83.

Conclusion of redistribution process

The new federal electoral boundaries for the five Divisions in Tasmania have been finalised by the augmented Electoral Commission for Tasmania.

On 14 April 1999, the Electoral Commission directed that a redistribution of electoral Divisions commence in Tasmania. Electoral Newsfile number 83 (August 1999) outlined the proposals of the Redistribution Committee for Tasmania.

The augmented Electoral Commission for Tasmania considered four objections to the proposal which they determined were matters that had not been presented in the suggestions and comments previously lodged with the Redistribution Committee. Therefore, the augmented Commission decided it was necessary to hold a public inquiry into the objections.

Change to the Redistribution Committee's proposal

The augmented Commission announced its determination on 22 November 1999. It substantially adopted the Proposal of the Redistribution Committee for Tasmania, except for the following change:

Division of Bass

A small area of the Dorset Local Government Area (LGA), in which 23 electors reside, was moved from the Division of Lyons to join the remaining portion of the LGA in the Bass electorate.

The augmented Commission resolved that as the agreed change to the proposal was not significant the redistribution process was concluded without the need for further objections or hearings.

Names of Divisions

The augmented Electoral Commission confirmed the Redistribution Committee's assessment that the proposed Divisions can be readily identified with the existing five Divisions and determined to retain the names of the existing Divisions.

What is a redistribution?

A redistribution is a redrawing of electoral boundaries to ensure that, as nearly as practicable, there are the same number of electors in each Division for a given State or Territory.

At the beginning of the process, the Electoral Commissioner determines the 'quota', or the average number of electors for each Division. The number of people enrolled in each electoral Division may not vary by more or less than 10% of the quota.

Summary of Movement of Electors Between Divisions
Electors in Tasmania at 14 April 1999 326 396  
Electors remaining in their current Division 320 706 98.26%
Electors transferred to another Division 5 690 1.74%
Determination of Quota at 14 April 1999
Number of Divisions into which Tasmania is to be distributed 5
Number of electors enrolled in Tasmania 326 396
Quota for Tasmania 65 279
Maximum number of electors (+10%) in a Division 71 806
Minimum number of electors (-10%) in a Division 58 752

At the midpoint of the expected life of the redistribution, the number of people enrolled in each Division should be within plus or minus 3.5% of the projected average enrolment.

Enrolment Projections for 30 June 2003
Number of Divisions into which Tasmania is to be distributed 5
Projected number of electors in Tasmania 337 034
Projected average enrolment for Tasmania 67 407
Projected average enrolment plus 3.5% 69 766
Projected average enrolment minus 3.5% 65 048
Statistical Summary of the Redistribution
14 April 1999 30 June 2003
Division No. of electors Variation from Quota % Projected number of electors Variation from average Divisional enrolment % Area (sq.kms)
Bass 65008 -0.42 66783 -0.93 7343
Braddon 67360 3.19 68640 1.83 11760
Denison 66267 1.51 67936 0.78 221
Franklin 65285 0.01 68084 1.00 7933
Lyons 62476 -4.29 65591 -2.69 40604
Total 326396   337034   67861
Steps in the Tasmanian Redistribution Process
14 April 1999 Redistribution directed and quota struck
The Electoral Commission directed that a redistribution commence in Tasmania. The Electoral Commissioner determined the quota of electors in each Division in Tasmania to be 65 279.
15 April 1999 Redistribution Committee for Tasmania appointed
28 April 1999 Public suggestions and comments invited
28 May 1999 Period for suggestions closed
The Redistribution Committee received seven suggestions for the redistribution.
11 June 1999 Period for comments on suggestions closed
One comment was received on the suggestions.
20 August 1999 Redistribution Committee for Tasmania issued its proposed redistribution and invited objections to the proposal
Notice of the proposed redistribution was published in the Gazette. Detailed maps, statistical tables and the rationale for the proposal were published in The Mercury, The Examiner and The Advocate.
17 September 1999 Period for objections to the proposal closed
Four objections were lodged.
1 October 1999 Period for comments on objections closed
No comments on the objections were received.
22 November 1999 Augmented Electoral Commission issued public notice of its decisions
11 February 2000 Redistribution determined
The augmented Electoral Commission's determination published in the Gazette and final report released.
14 March 2000 Report of the augmented Electoral Commission tabled in Parliament
Augumented Electoral Commission for Tasmania
Chairman of the Australian Electoral Commission Hon Trevor Morling QC
Electoral Commissioner Andy Becker
Non-judicial member of the Australian Electoral Commission Bill McLennan AM
Australian Electoral Officer for Tasmania Alex Stanelos
Surveyor-General of Tasmania Christopher Rowe
Auditor-General of Tasmania Dr Arthur McHugh

Australian Electoral Commission Contacts

Central Office

Electoral Commissioner (02) 6271 4400
Andy Becker

Deputy Electoral Commissioner (02) 6271 4410
Mark Cunliffe (acting)

Director, Information
Anthea Wilson (acting) (02) 6271 4415

Assistant Directors, Information
Bernadette O'Meara (02) 6271 4548
Silvana Puizina (02) 6271 4431

Editor, Newsfile
Margaret Meneghel (02) 6271 4505

Redistribution Secretariat Wayne Seymour (02) 6271 4688

State/Territory Offices

The administration of federal elections and referendums are under the control of the Australian Electoral Officer (AEO) for that State or Territory.

AEOs may be contacted on the following numbers.

New South Wales

Frances Howat
Ph. (02) 9375 6333
Fx. (02) 9281 9384


David Muffet
Ph. (03) 9285 7171
Fx. (03) 9285 7178


Bob Longland
Ph. (07) 3834 3400
Fx. (07) 3831 7223

Western Australia

Andrew Moyes
Ph. (08) 9470 7299
Fx. (08) 9472 3551

South Australia

Geoff Halsey
Ph. (08) 8237 6555
Fx. (08) 8231 2664


Alex Stanelos
Ph. (03) 6235 0500
Fx. (03) 6234 4268

Northern Territory

Paul Anderson (acting)
Ph. (08) 8981 1477
Fx. (08) 8981 7964


Further Information

The AEC produces a range of information materials for political parties, journalists and other people interested in the electoral process.

These are available from all AEC offices and the AEC internet website.