Electoral Newsfile 90: 1999 Redistribution of Federal Electoral Boundaries

Updated: 5 December 2007

Final Boundaries for South Australia

On 10 February 1999, the Electoral Commission directed that a redistribution of electoral boundaries commence in South Australia. The redistribution was triggered as seven years had elapsed since South Australia was last redistributed. Further details of the 1999 redistribution process for South Australia are in Electoral Newsfile numbers 80 and 81.

Conclusion of redistribution process

The new federal electoral boundaries for the 12 Divisions in South Australia have been finalised by the augmented Electoral Commission for South Australia.

The determination of the augmented Commission is that the boundaries of the electoral Divisions in South Australia, and the names of those Divisions, shall be as proposed by the Redistribution Committee for South Australia in their report published on 21 May 1999. Electoral Newsfile number 81 (May 1999) outlined the proposals of the Redistribution Committee for South Australia.

The augmented Commission considered four objections and one comment on the objections to the proposals. The augmented Commission determined that the matters raised in the objections were substantially the same as those already raised in the suggestions and comments lodged with the Redistribution Committee, so decided not to hold a further public inquiry into the objections.

On 12 July 1999 the augmented Commission announced its determination that it had adopted, without change, the Proposal of the Redistribution Committee for South Australia. As the augmented Commission's Proposal did not differ from that of the Redistribution Committee the redistribution process was concluded without the need for inviting further objections.

Names of Divisions

The augmented Electoral Commission confirmed the Redistribution Committee's assessment that the proposed Divisions can be readily identified with the existing 12 Divisions and determined to retain the names of the existing Divisions.

Previous redistributions in South Australia

South Australia was last redistributed in 1992 as a result of a reduction in its entitlement to Members in the House of Representatives. At that time the State was reduced from 13 Divisions to 12.

What is a redistribution?

A redistribution is a redrawing of electoral boundaries to ensure that, as nearly as practicable, there are the same number of electors in each Division for a given State or Territory.

Summary of Movement of Electors Between Divisions
Electors in South Australia at 10 February 1999 1 024 632  
Electors remaining in their current Division 983 379 95.97%
Electors transferred to another Division 41 253 4.03%
Steps in the South Australian Redistribution Process
10 February 1999 Redistribution directed and quota struck
The Electoral Commission directed that a redistribution commence in South Australia. The Electoral Commissioner determined the quota of electors in each Division in South Australia to be 85 386.
15 February 1999 Redistribution Committee for South Australia appointed
17 February 1999 Public suggestions and comments invited
19 March 1999 Period for suggestions closed
The Redistribution Committee received 10 suggestions for the redistribution.
6 April 1999 Period for comments on suggestions closed
Eleven comments were received on the suggestions.
21 May 1999 Redistribution Committee for South Australia issued its proposed redistribution and invited objections to the proposal
Notice of the proposed redistribution was published in the Gazette. Detailed maps, statistical tables and the Committee's rationale for the proposal were published in The Australian and The Advertiser.
18 June 1999 Period for objections to the proposal closed
Four objections were lodged.
2 July 1999 Period for comments on objections closed
One comment on the objections was received.
12 July 1999 Augmented Electoral Commission issued public notice of its decisions
13 August 1999 Redistribution determined
The augmented Electoral Commission's determination published in the Gazette and final report released.
1 September 1999 Report of the augmented Electoral Commission tabled in Parliament
Augmented Electoral Commission for South Australia
Chairman of the Australian Electoral Commission Hon Trevor Morling QC
Electoral Commissioner Bill Gray AM
Non-judicial member of the Australian Electoral Commission Bill McLennan AM
Australian Electoral Officer for South Australia Geoff Halsey
Surveyor-General for South Australia Peter Kentish
Auditor-General of South Australia Ken MacPherson
Determination of Quota at 10 February 1999
Number of Divisions into which South Australia is to be distributed 12
Number of electors enrolled in South Australia 1 024 632
Quota for South Australia 85 386
Maximum number of electors (+10%) in a Division 93 924
Minimum number of electors (-10%) in a Division 76 848

Three and a half years after the redistribution, the number of people enrolled in each Division should be within plus or minus 3.5% of the projected average enrolment.

Statistical summary of the redistribution
10 February 1999 30 June 2001
Division No. of electors Variation from Quota % Projected number of electors Variation from average Divisional enrolment % Area (sq.kms)
Adelaide 86305 1.08 87661 0.48 70.82
Barker 85418 0.04 87728 0.56 52005.74
Bonython 83225 -2.53 88761 1.74 268.65
Boothby 88871 4.08 88832 1.82 119.21
Grey 87590 2.58 87834 0.68 897822.42
Hindmarsh 84542 -0.99 85054 -2.51 62.80
Kingston 82566 -3.30 85353 -2.16 170.01
Makin 86835 1.70 89689 2.81 109.78
Mayo 82827 -3.00 85610 -1.87 2035.37
Port Adelaide 86425 1.22 86294 -1.08 234.10
Sturt 84949 -0.51 86106 -1.30 66.31
Wakefield 85079 -0.36 87953 0.82 31123.42
Total 1024632   1046875   984088.63
3 maps: one showing all of South Australia, one showing the area surrounding Adelaide and one showing the Adelaide metropolitan area Detailed map of Adelaide metropolitan divisions

Australian Electoral Commission Contacts

Central Office

Electoral Commissioner (02) 6271 4400
Andy Becker

Deputy Electoral Commissioner (02) 6271 4410
Mark Cunliffe (acting)

Director, Information
Anthea Wilson (acting) (02) 6271 4415

Assistant Directors, Information
Bernadette O'Meara (02) 6271 4548
Silvana Puizina (02) 6271 4431

Editor, Newsfile
Margaret Meneghel (02) 6271 4505

Redistribution Secretariat
Wayne Seymour (02) 6271 4688

State/Territory Offices

The administration of federal elections and referendums are under the control of the Australian Electoral Officer (AEO) for that State or Territory.

AEOs may be contacted on the following numbers.

New South Wales

Frances Howat
Ph. (02) 9375 6333
Fx. (02) 9281 9384


David Muffet
Ph. (03) 9285 7171
Fx. (03) 9285 7178


Bob Longland
Ph. (07) 3834 3400
Fx. (07) 3831 7223

Western Australia

Andrew Moyes
Ph. (08) 9470 7299
Fx. (08) 9472 3551

South Australia

Geoff Halsey
Ph. (08) 8237 6555
Fx. (08) 8231 2664


Alex Stanelos (acting)
Ph. (03) 6235 0500
Fx. (03) 6234 4268

Northern Territory

Paul Anderson (acting)
Ph. (08) 8981 1477
Fx. (08) 8981 7964


Further Information

The AEC produces a range of information materials for political parties, journalists and other people interested in the electoral process. These are available from all AEC offices and the AEC internet website.