Profile of the electoral division of Fremantle (WA)

Updated: 19 July 2016
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named after the city of Fremantle which was named after Captain Charles Fremantle 1800–69 who established the port at the mouth of the Swan River in 1829.
196 sq km
Location description:
Fremantle covers the Cities of Cockburn, Fremantle and Melville (part) and the town of East Fremantle. It is situated south west of Perth and includes Rottnest Island. The suburbs include Atwell, Aubin Grove, Banjup, Beaconsfield, Beeliar, Bibra Lake, Coolbellup, Coogee, Cockburn Central, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Hamilton Hill, Hammond Park, Henderson, Hilton, Jandakot, Kardinya (part), Leeming (part), Munster, North Coogee, North Fremantle, North Lake, O'Connor, Palmyra, Samson, South Fremantle, South Lake, Spearwood, Success, Wattleup, White Gum Valley and Yangebup.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Industries include retail, commercial, manufacturing, medical, education, professional services, hospitality, tourism and fishing.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Wilson, J* (ALP) 2016–
  • Parke, M (ALP) 2007–2016
  • Lawrence, C (ALP) 1994–2007
  • Dawkins, J S (ALP) 1977–1994
  • Beazley, K E (ALP) 1945–1977
  • Curtin, J (FLP/ALP) 1934–1945
  • Watson, W (UAP) 1931–1934
  • Curtin, J (ALP) 1928–1931
  • Watson, W (IND) 1922–1928
  • Burchell, R J (ALP/NAT) 1913–1922
  • Hedges, W N (WAP/LIB) 1906–1913
  • Carpenter, W H (ALP) 1903–1906
  • Solomon, E (FT) 1901–1903

*Josh Wilson resigned as the member for Fremantle in May 2018. A by-election is being conducted on 28 July 2018 to elect a new member.

AEC contact:
Fremantle Divisional Office
Back to top