Profile of the electoral division of Higgins (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Higgins (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of Higgins (2018) [PDF 2.37MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Henry Bournes Higgins KC, 1851–1929. Higgins was an active member of the Constitutional Conventions that led to the Commonwealth of Australia, Member of the House of Representatives (1901–06), a Justice of the High Court (1906–29) and President of the Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Court (1907–21). Higgins is known for the Harvester Decision.
41 sq km
Location description

The Division of Higgins consists of:

  • part of the Boroondara City Council,
  • part of the Glen Eira City Council,
  • part of the Monash City Council, and
  • part of the Stonnington City Council
Products/Industries of the Area:
Retail, health care, food services and education.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • O'Dwyer, K (LP) 2009–
  • Costello, P (LP) 1990–2009
  • Shipton, R F (LP) 1975–1990
  • Gorton, J G (LP/IND) 1968–1975
  • Holt, H E (LP) 1949–1967
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top