Profile of the electoral division of Grey (SA)

Updated: 19 November 2019
South Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
20 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1903 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Grey (2018) [PDF 2.35MB]
Map of the Division of Grey (2018) [PDF 4.26MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Sir George Grey, 1812–98. Grey explored parts of north-western Australia and was Governor of South Australia (1841–45). As a delegate for New Zealand, Grey attended the 1891 National Australasian Convention, one of the conferences that led to the Commonwealth of Australia, and championed the principle of 'one man one vote'.
908,595 sq km
Location description

The Division of Grey consists of:

  • Adelaide Plains Council,
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara,
  • City of Port Lincoln,
  • Clare and Gilbert Valleys Council,
  • Corporation of the City of Whyalla,
  • District Council of Barunga West,
  • District Council of Ceduna,
  • District Council of Cleve,
  • District Council of Coober Pedy,
  • District Council of Elliston,
  • District Council of Franklin Harbour,
  • District Council of Kimba,
  • District Council of Lower Eyre Peninsula,
  • District Council of Mount Remarkable,
  • District Council of Orroroo Carrieton,
  • District Council of Peterborough,
  • District Council of Streaky Bay,
  • District Council of the Copper Coast
  • District Council of Tumby Bay,
  • Flinders Ranges Council,
  • Maralinga Tjarutja,
  • Municipal Council of Roxby Downs,
  • Northern Areas Council,
  • Port Augusta City Council,
  • Port Pirie Regional Council,
  • Regional Council of Goyder,
  • Wakefield Regional Council,
  • Wudinna District Council,
  • Yorke Peninsula Council,
  • part of Light Regional Council,
  • Pastoral Unincorporated Area, and
  • Unincorporated Area Whyalla
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.