Profile of the electoral division of Hume (NSW)

Updated: 02 April 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named in honour of Hamilton Hume, 1797–1873. Hume was an explorer of south-eastern Australia. He was part of the first expedition to travel overland from Sydney to Port Phillip and part of the first European expedition to discover the Darling River.
17 240 sq km
Location Description:
Hume includes the entire Councils of Boorowa, Goulburn Mulwaree and Upper Lachlan and parts of Camden Council, Liverpool City Council, Wingecarribee Shire Council and Wollondilly Shire Council. Towns include Appin, Boorowa, Bundanoon, Camden Park, Colo Vale, Crookwell, Exeter, Goulburn, Gunning, Hill Top, Marulan, Menangle, Meryla, Oak Dale, Penrose, Taralga, Werai (part), Wingello (part) and Yerrinbool (part).
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Products/industries of the area:
Mixed farming, grazing, fat lambs, fruit, vegetables, wine, timber and textiles. The area is noted for its fine wool with Goulburn being the home of the Big Merino. Belgenny Farm, former home of John and Elizabeth Macarthur, the Macarthur Campus of the Western Sydney University, the University of Sydney farms and the Mount Annan Botanic Gardens are also located within the Hume electorate.
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Taylor, A (LP) 2013–
  • Schultz, A (LP) 1998–2013
  • Sharp, J (NP) 1993–1998
  • Fife, W C (LP) 1984–1993
  • Lusher, S A (CP/NCP/NP) 1974–1984
  • Olley, F (ALP) 1972–1974
  • Pettitt, J A (CP) 1963–1972
  • Fuller, A N (ALP) 1961–1963
  • Anderson, C G W (CP) 1955–1961
  • Fuller, A N (ALP) 1951–1955
  • Anderson, C G W (CP) 1949–1951
  • Fuller, A N (ALP) 1943–1949
  • Collins, T J (CP) 1931–1943
  • Moloney, P J (ALP) 1919–1931
  • Falkiner, F B S (NAT) 1917–1919
  • Patten, R (LIB) 1913–1917
  • Lyne, W J (PROT/IND) 1901–1913
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
Back to top