Profile of the electoral division of Sydney (NSW)

Updated: 19 November 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1969 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the city covered by the electoral division. The name 'Sydney' was used by Captain Arthur Phillip in honour of Thomas Townshend, First Viscount Sydney, who as British Home Secretary submitted the plan for a convict settlement at Botany Bay.
44 sq km
Location Description:
Sydney covers an area from Pyrmont, The Rocks and Potts Point (including Sydney Harbour) in the north to Rosebery in the south. Bounded in the east by the eastern border of Potts Point and Darlinghurst to Oxford Street, Flinders Street, South Dowling Street and Southern Cross Drive, the division extends to Glebe, Camperdown, Newtown and Erskineville in the west. The main suburbs include Camperdown, Darlinghurst (part), Erskineville, Glebe, Haymarket, Newtown, Potts Point, Pyrmont, Rosebery, Surry Hills, The Rocks, Waterloo and Woolloomooloo.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: