Proposed federal electoral divisions for Victoria released

Updated: 19 March 2021

The Redistribution Committee for Victoria today published its report proposing names and boundaries for the state’s federal electoral divisions.

The Chair of the Committee and Electoral Commissioner, Tom Rogers, said the Victorian redistribution was required to enable an increase from 38 to 39 electoral divisions.

“Under the proposal, the boundaries of all but nine of Victoria’s existing electoral divisions would change, the additional division of Hawke would be created and one electoral division would be renamed,” Mr Rogers said.

“Ongoing population growth in parts of Victoria has led the Redistribution Committee to propose a number of substantial changes to some of the state’s electoral division boundaries.”

Proposed boundaries

The proposal would see the following key changes:

  • rearranging boundaries in the low-growth eastern suburbs of Melbourne to more equitably balance the high-growth areas to the south-east and north-west of the city
  • taking high-growth areas out of electoral divisions which exceed the maximum number of electors permitted by the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918, such as the existing Divisions of Ballarat, Corangamite, La Trobe and Monash
  • altering boundaries in the west of Victoria to accommodate a new electoral division, and to more equitably balance electors in the rural and regional west
  • improving communities of interest where possible.

Mr Rogers said the Committee had been faced with the task of inserting a new electoral division while also bringing all 39 divisions within the allowable numerical tolerance.

Proposed division names

Margaret Tucker

The Committee proposes renaming the Division of Corangamite to Tucker in honour of Margaret (Lilardia) Elizabeth Tucker MBE (1904–1996), a Yorta Yorta woman, for her significant work to create a more equal and understanding society for Aboriginal people.

As a founding member and treasurer of the Australian Aborigines League, Margaret Tucker campaigned in support of citizenship rights for Aboriginal people.

In addition, Margaret Tucker was the first woman appointed to the Victorian Aborigines Welfare Board in 1964 and the first Aboriginal woman to join the Commonwealth’s Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs in 1968. Her leadership and support played a vital role in establishing the Victorian Aboriginal Health Service in 1973.

Margaret Tucker was among the first inductees to the Victorian Honour Roll of Women in 2001.

The Redistribution Committee considers it appropriate to rename an electoral division to Tucker in recognition of a notable Aboriginal person who made significant contributions to Australia.

The Committee observed that the existing Division of Corangamite is proposed to contract significantly, with the portion of the Surf Coast included to be greatly reduced, noting that it has been some years since the electoral division included both Lake Corangamite and the Corangamite Shire.

Bob Hawke

The proposed new Division of Hawke is named in honour of the Hon. Robert James Lee Hawke AC (1929–2019), Prime Minister of Australia from 1983 to 1991.

This is consistent with the guideline for naming federal electoral divisions, which says that when new electoral divisions are created the names of former Prime Ministers should be considered.


The consultative nature of the redistribution process continues, with individuals and organisations now able to lodge objections to the Committee’s proposed divisions.

Written objections must be lodged no later than 6pm (AEST) on Friday 16 April 2021. The best way to lodge an objection is online. Objections can also be submitted via:

  • Email –
  • Post – The Australian Electoral Commission (Att: Redistribution Secretariat), GPO Box 768, Melbourne VIC 3001
  • Fax – 03 6293 7664.

All objections received by the deadline will be available for public inspection on the AEC website and at Urban Workshop, Level 1, 50 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne (business hours only) from Monday 19 April 2021.

Comments on the objections will then be accepted until 6pm (AEST) on Friday 30 April 2021.

All comments on objections received by the deadline will also be made available for public inspection from Monday 3 May 2021.

Editor’s notes: