

Public Comment on Objection Number 8

Cassy O'Connor MP

3 Page(s)

> AEC Redistribution Committee



Jessica Wilson <jessica.wilson@parliament .tas.gov.au> 03/10/2008 02:54 PM To "tas.redistribution@aec.gov.au" <tas.redistribution@aec.gov.au>

cc hcc

Subject AEC Redistribution Committee

Hello,

Please find attached a letter from Cassy O'Connor MP regarding the proposal to rename the Division of Denison. Kind regards,

Jessica

Jessica Wilson
Executive Assistant to Cassy O'Connor MP
Tasmanian Greens

Parliament House Hobart TAS 7000 Ph: (03) 6233 8300 Fax: (03) 6223 1406

Email: greens@parliament.tas.gov.au



Any opinions expressed in this e-mail are those of the individual and not necessarily the Parliament of Tasmania. This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are confidential and solely for the use of the intended recipient. If you are not the intended recipient or person responsible for delivering to the intended recipient, be advised that you have received this e-mail in error and that any use is strictly prohibited. If you have received this e-mail in error, advise the sender immediately by using the reply facility in your e-mail software.

Warning: Computer viruses may be transmitted or downloaded onto any computer system via e-mail communication. It is the recipient's responsibility to take appropriate action to prevent computer viruses being transmitted In this way. Accordingly the Parliament of Tasmania disclaim all responsibility which arises directly or indirectly from such transmission of

983

computer viruses. 3 Oct 08 - AEC - Denison renaming.pdf

Cassy O'Connor MP

Member for Denison **Tasmanian Greens**

Friday, 3 October 2008

Redistribution Committee for Tasmania Australian Electoral Commission 2nd Floor, AMP Building 86 Collins St HOBART TAS 7000 Email: tas.redistribution@aec.gov.au

To Whom it Concerns,

I am writing as an elected Denison representative in the Tasmanian Parliament to express my strong disagreement with the findings of the Australian Electoral Commission's Redistribution Committee Report into the proposed renaming of the Denison Division.

Andrew Inglis-Clark deserves recognition for both his contribution to democratic processes in Tasmania, and to the drafting and content of the Australian Constitution last century. History records that Governor William Denison did not make anywhere near the same contribution to Tasmania or Australia as Andrew Inglis-Clark. The time has come for this to be formally recognised.

Inglis-Clark was a co-founder of the renowned Hare-Clark voting system, widely regarded as an exceptional electoral instrument for advancing democratic principles. For this reason alone, he should be recognised.

Andrew Inglis-Clark was also driven by a conviction that we are all equal before the law – regardless of birth, race, gender, religion or wealth. This is reflected in his contribution to drafting the Australian Constitution, in which he is credited with writing eighty-six clauses in the final document, and ensuring Tasmania played a central role.

In comparison, Governor Denison made a fleeting contribution to Tasmania during his eight year's tenure, and his legacy is marginal at best. He backed the continued transportation of convicts, despite growing local concern, and urged Britain to establish an Upper House in Tasmania, to be overseen by the State's landed gentry.

The claim in the AEC's *Guidelines for naming Divisions* that every effort should be made to retain original Federation Divisional names does not apply to the division of Denison, as this in fact is not an original Federation Division. Such a reason therefore cannot be used as a reason for retaining the name of Denison.

For these reasons, and because the proposed renaming has solid community, and cross-party support, I urge the Australian Electoral Commission to overturn their previous decision, and agree to the renaming of the Division of Denison in honour of Andrew Inglis-Clark.

Yours sincerely,

Cassy O'Connor MP

Member for Denison