Profile of the electoral division of Wannon (Vic)

Updated: 7 August 2020
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Wannon (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of Wannon (2018) [PDF 6.53MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the Wannon River. The name 'Wannon' is believed to have been obtained by Major Mitchell from the local Jardwadjali people.
33,419 sq km
Location description

The Division of Wannon consists of:

  • Ararat Rural City Council,
  • Corangamite Shire Council,
  • Glenelg Shire Council,
  • Moyne Shire Council,
  • Southern Grampians Shire Council,
  • Warrnambool City Council,
  • part of the Colac Otway Shire Council,
  • part of the Golden Plains Shire Council,
  • part of the Northern Grampians Shire Council, and
  • part of the Pyrenees Shire Council.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.