Commonwealth Electoral Division of Mackellar (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Mackellar AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Dorothea Mackellar (1885–1968), a famous Australian poet and novelist.

Size & location description:

Mackellar covers an area of approximately 233 sq km from the northern part of Palm Beach, south to Dee Why and west to Duffys Forest. The main suburbs include Avalon, Bayview, Belrose, Bilgola, Church Point, Collaroy, Cromer, Davidson, Elanora, Mona Vale, Narrabeen, Newport, Palm Beach, Scotland Island, Terrey Hills, Warriewood and parts of Beacon Hill, Dee Why, Narraweena and Frenchs Forest and Forestville.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Light manufacturing, service industries, commercial wholesale and retail trades and tourism.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Bishop, B (LP) 1994–
  • Carlton, J J (LP) 1977–1994
  • Wentworth, W C (LP/IND) 1949–1977

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.