2001 Profile of the division of Wide Bay

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the district which takes its name from the bay sighted by Captain James Cook on 18 May 1770.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 53 826 sq km from Hervey Bay and Rainbow Beach in the SE; from the townships of Wowan and Dululu in the NW to the township of Boondooma in the SW and the towns of Wondai and Murgon in the south. Major population centres are Maryborough, Hervey Bay City and Biloela. It also includes the World Heritage Listed Fraser Island (the world's largest sand island).

Products/Industries of the area:

Eco-tourism (Fraser Island), whale watching (Hervey Bay), timber, dairying, cotton, grain (wheat, sorghum, oats & barley), grazing, coal mining, citrus orchards, sugar, railway rolling stock and locomotives (including Queensland's new 'tilt' trains).

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Warren Truss (NP) 1990–
  • P C Millar (CP/NCP/NP) 1974–90
  • B P Hansen (ALP) 1961–74
  • H N C Bandidt (CP) 1958–61
  • W A Brand (CP) 1954–58
  • B H Corser (CP) 1928–54
  • E B C Corser (LIB/NAT) 1915–28
  • A Fisher (ALP) 1901–15

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses.


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 78 007

Informal Vote: 3.27%

Turnout: 95.07%

Seat Status: Marginal National

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 47.14%
  • NP: 52.86%

Enrolment: 78 425

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.61%
  • Preamble Question 0.61%


  • Republic Question 95.20%
  • Preamble Question 95.17%

Enrolment: 81 391

Informal Vote: 5.57%

Turnout: 95.45%

Seat Status: Safe National

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 39.27%
  • NP: 60.73%