Parliamentary Committees

Updated: 8 August 2014

The Australian Electoral Commission is accountable to the federal Parliament in relation to its statutory responsibilities under the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918, the Referendum (Machinery Provisions) Act 1984, and the Workplace Relations Act 1996.

The Parliament has established various committees which are empowered to inquire into aspects of the electoral process, and the most relevant committee for electoral purposes, is the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters.

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs may also inquire into aspects of the electoral process as necessary.

Further information on federal parliamentary committees and their reports may be found on the Australian Parliament website.

AEC Submissions to Parliamentary Committees

AEC Submissions to Other Consultation Processes

Back to top