



# Comment Number 14 on Objections

Michael O'Dwyer State Director LNP

3 pages

for a new Queensland



## 4 September 2009

Mr Ed Killesteyn Electoral Commissioner Redistribution Committee for Queensland 7<sup>th</sup> Floor 488 Queen Street Brisbane Qld 4001

Facsimile: (07) 3834 3452

Email: qld.redistribution@aec.gov.au

Dear Mr Killesteyn

The Liberal National Party (The LNP) responds to the Redistribution Committee for Queensland's invitation under Section 69 (3) of the *Commonwealth Electoral Act* 1918 for written comments on the objections lodged to the proposed redistribution of Queensland into electoral divisions.

Our comments are attached.

Thank you for your consideration of our submission.

Yours sincerely

Michael O'Dwyer

State Director

# COMMENTS

#### 1. Introduction

- In accordance with Section 69 (3) of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 (the 1.1 Act), the Liberal National Party (LNP) responds to the invitation for written comments to the objections lodged to the proposed redistribution of Queensland into electoral divisions.
- 1.2 The LNP has appraised the objections and provides the following comments.

#### 2. **General Strategy**

- 2.1 The LNP reaffirms the views contained in our submission (No 532 AEC website).
- 2.2 The LNP notes in particular comments contained in submissions 45 and 69 that generally support the contention put forward in our submission:

"The LNP submits that as a matter of law the result must be that, subject to satisfaction of paragraph 73(4)(a) and the quota requirement, they should result in two outcomes which are presently relevant:

- the larger divisions being at the lower end of the permissible ranges for numbers of electors; and
- where, within the permissible enrolment (and forecast enrolment) parameters, an existing divisional boundary can be maintained, that course should be preferred over one which changes an existing boundary."
- 3 South East Queensland South Divisions Proposed Blair, Bonner, Bowman, Fadden, Forde, Griffith, McPherson, Moncrieff, Moreton, Oxley, Rankin, Wright
- 3.1 The LNP reaffirms the objections contained in our submission (No 532 AEC website).
- 4 South East Queensland North Divisions Proposed Fairfax, Fisher, Longman, Petrie, Dickson, Lilley, Brisbane, Ryan
- 4.1 The LNP reaffirms the objections contained in our submission (No 532 AEC website).
- 4.2 We note the several objections that refer to South East Queensland (SEQ) north divisions' voter displacement and community of interest disintegration. Our submission supports the substance of these objections.
- 4.3 The LNP draws the attention of the Augmented Electoral Commission (AEC) to the several SEQ north divisions' objections and in particular to Submission No 549 and its commendable suggestions proposed for Longman, Dickson, Petrie, Lilley, Brisbane and Ryan.

- 5. Country Divisions
  Proposed Leichhardt, Kennedy, Herbert, Dawson, Capricornia, Flynn,
  Hinkler, Wide Bay, Maranoa
- 5.1 The LNP reaffirms the objections contained in our submission (No 532 AEC website).
- 5.2 We note that almost eighty percent (80%) or some 440 of the 555 objections refer to the Redistribution of Committee Queensland's proposed Herbert. In particular these refer to the severing of the community of interest homogeneity that exists between the Lavarack Barracks and adjacent suburbs especially Annandale and their relocation to proposed Dawson. The LNP supports the numerous objections.

## 6. Name of New Division

6.1.1 The LNP notes the several objections to the proposed name of Wright for the proposed new division. These objections suggest that the geography of the proposed new division is immaterial and that the proposed name still invokes negative connotations and seemingly perpetuate them.

--000000--