Australian Electoral Commission

Women and the Right to Vote in Australia

Updated: 28 January 2011

Australian women who were British subjects, 21 years and older, gained the right to vote in:

Place Voting Rights Right to stand for Parliament
South Australia 1895 1895
Western Australia 1899 1920
Australia (Commonwealth) 1902 1902
New South Wales 1902 1918
Tasmania 1903 1921
Queensland 1905 1915
Victoria 1908 1923

In 1962 the right to vote in federal elections was granted to Australian Aboriginal women who, together with Australian Aboriginal men, had been specifically excluded from the franchise in Australia by the Commonwealth Franchise Act 1902.

Source: AUSFOLIO Volume 2, Number 1 SOCOM Educational Resources 1993.