Australian Electoral Commission

Profile of the electoral division of Paterson (NSW)

Updated: 11 August 2015
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
Currently under redistribution, new boundaries will apply for next federal election held after 25 February 2016. If an election was called and the writs issued before this date, a mini-redistribution would be required.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Paterson (2009) [PDF 453KB]
Map of the Division of Paterson (2009) [PDF 7.0MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Andrew 'Banjo' Paterson (1864–1941), Australian author and poet. There is also conjecture that the division was first named in 1947 after Colonel William Paterson 1755–1810 after whom the town and river within the division were named.
Area and Location Description:
Paterson covers an area of approximately 6 652 sq km and extends from Raymond Terrace, Medowie and Anna Bay in the south to the southern boundary of Greater Taree local government area in the north and west to the Great Dividing Range. The main towns include Anna Bay, Bulahdelah, Clarence Town, Dungog, Forster, Hawks Nest, Lemon Tree Passage, Medowie, Morpeth, Nelson Bay, Paterson, Raymond Terrace, Stroud, Tuncurry and parts of Nabiac, Thornton and East Maitland.
Products/industries of the area:
Timber, beef and dairy cattle, mixed farming, maize, sawmilling, fishing and oyster farming, tourism and general engineering.
First proclaimed/election:
1947/1949 (Division was abolished in 1984 and re-established at the 1992 redistribution.)
Demographic rating:
Baldwin, B (LP) 2001–
Horne, R H (ALP) 1998–2001
Baldwin, R C (LP) 1996–1998
Horne, R H (ALP) 1993–1996
O'Keefe, F L (CP/NCP/NP) 1969–1984
Fairhall, A (LP) 1949–1969
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2013 federal election – House of Representatives results for Paterson
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Paterson
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Paterson
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Paterson
2013 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.