Australian Electoral Commission

Norfolk Island Electors

Updated: 28 April 2016

New legislation affecting enrolment and voting for residents of Norfolk Island

On 1 July 2016, the law will change to make enrolment and voting the same for Norfolk Island as for the rest of Australia.

This means enrolling and voting will become compulsory for all eligible Norfolk Islanders (Australian Citizens or Eligible British Subjects over the age of 18) from 1 July 2016.

Norfolk Island will be included in the Division of Canberra. Norfolk Islanders will vote for the member for Canberra, who will represent both Norfolk Island and the rest of the Division of Canberra in Parliament.

Previous arrangements under which eligible Norfolk Islanders could choose to enrol in federal electoral divisions other than the Division of Canberra will no longer be law as of 1 July 2016.

Interim period – 6 May to 30 June 2016

As part of the changes, for an interim period of eight weeks before 1 July, eligible Norfolk Island residents who submit a claim for enrolment or who wish to change their enrolment details will be enrolled for the Division of Canberra. This period will commence from 6 May until 30 June. You are able to enrol now and during this period but note that enrolment is not compulsory during this interim period.

You can enrol either using the Australian Electoral Commission Online Enrolment Service at or collect an enrolment application form from the Australian Government Information Centre at World Traders, Burnt Pine.

Remember, once you are enrolled it is compulsory to vote in all federal elections and referendums.

Where can I get more information?

Phone: +61 2 6160 2600

Forms available on this page may be completed on screen prior to printing, signing and returning to the AEC.

I live on Norfolk Island, can I enrol to vote?

If you are a resident of Norfolk Island, you can enrol to vote if you:

  • are an Australian citizen, and
  • are 18 years of age or older*, and
  • have lived for at least one month at your current address.

It is not compulsory for you to enrol, but once you have enrolled you must vote.

* You can enrol at 16 but you cannot vote until you are 18.

How do I enrol as a Norfolk Island elector?

Complete the Enrol to vote or update your details as a Norfolk Island elector form below then return it to the AEC.

To complete this form you need to nominate an electoral division where you can claim enrolment. This may be where:

  • you were last eligible to be enrolled, or
  • your next of kin is currently enrolled, or
  • you were born, or
  • you have the closest connection.

If none of the above apply, you can claim enrolment for the:

  • Division of Canberra in the Australian Capital Territory, or
  • Division of Solomon in the Northern Territory.

You may not claim enrolment for the:

  • Division of Fenner in the ACT, or
  • Division of Lingiari in the NT.

If you nominate a division in Tasmania or the Northern Territory, you are entitled to vote in their state or territory elections. There is no provision to vote at any of the other state elections or the ACT Legislative Assembly elections.

If you are unsure contact your local AEC office for further information.

Enrolment form for Norfolk Island electors

Returning your completed form