Australian Electoral Commission

Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) elections

Updated: 15 July 2016
  • Election day for the TSRA is 30 July 2016

The TSRA Board consists of 20 elected members who are Torres Strait Islander or Aboriginal people living within a ward in the region. Board members are elected every four years.


The wards are Badu Island, Bamaga, Boigu Island, Dauan Island, Erub Island, Hammond Island, Iama Island, Kubin, Mabuiag Island, Masig Island, Mer Island, Ngurapai and Muralag, Port Kennedy, Poruma Island, Saibai Island, Seisia, St Pauls, TRAWQ, Ugar Island, Warraber Island.

Where to vote

Voting will not take place in the wards of Dauan Island, Masig Island, Ngurapai and Muralag, Saibai Island, Seisia and Ugar Island as only one candidate has been nominated. These wards are uncontested.

Election day

If you reside in the wards of Bamaga, Port Kennedy or TRAWQ you can vote on polling day at the following times and locations:
Location Ward Address Date & time
Bamaga Bamaga NPA State College
Senior Campus
24 Sagaukaz Street
Saturday 30 July
9am – 4pm
Thursday Island Port Kennedy Port Kennedy Hall
64 Douglas Street
Saturday 30 July
9am – 5pm
TRAWQ TRAWQ (Tamwoy) Community Hall
2-4 Olandi Street
Saturday 30 July
9am – 5pm

Pre-poll voting

If you reside in one of the above wards and you will not be able to attend a polling booth on election day you can vote early at one of the following locations:
Location Address Date & time
Cairns Australian Electoral Commission, Cairns
Level 2, Commonwealth Centre
104 Grafton Street
Mon - Thurs 18-21 July, 9am – 5pm
Mon - Fri 25-29 July, 9am – 5pm
Thursday Island Queensland Government Offices
37-45 Douglas Street
Mon - Fri 25-29 July, 10am – 5pm

Mobile polling

If you reside in the wards of Badu Island, Boigu Island, Erub Island, Hammond Island, Iama Island, Kubin, Mabuiag Island, Mer Island, Poruma Island, St Pauls and Warraber Island mobile voting teams will visit you at the following locations and times:
Location Address Date & time
Badu Island Community Hall
Nona Street
Wednesday 27 July, 10am – 3pm
Boigu Island Community Hall
Chambers Street
Tuesday 26 July, 9am – 11:30am
Erub Island Indigenous Knowledge Centre
Medigee Village
Tuesday 26 July, 11am – 2pm
Hammond Island Community Hall
Francis Road
Thursday 28 July, 10am – 12:30pm
Iama Island Community Hall
Mosby Street
Tuesday 26 July, 9am – 12pm
Kubin Community Hall
Kubin Community
Thursday 28 July, 1:30pm – 3:30pm
Mabuiag Island Community Hall
Map Street
Tuesday 26 July, 1pm – 3pm
Mer Island Community Hall
Marou Road
Wednesday 27 July, 10am – 2pm
Poruma Island Community Hall
Olandi Street
Tuesday 26 July, 1:30pm – 3:30pm
St Pauls Conference Centre
St Pauls Community
Thursday 28 July, 9:30am – 12pm
Warraber Island Community Hall
Ganaia Street
Wednesday 27 July, 10am – 12:30pm

Hospital and aged care facility polling

A polling team will visit following hospitals and aged care facilities on Thursday Island:
Location Address Date & time
Thursday Island Star of the Sea Elders Village
121 Waiben Esplanade
Thursday 28 July, 9am – 10:30am
Health and Community Care
90 Douglas Street
Thursday 28 July, 11:30am – 12:30pm
Thursday Island Hospital
163 Douglas Street
Thursday 28 July, 1:30pm – 3:00pm


Nominations for candidates have now closed. A ballot paper position draw was conducted on 30 June 2016.

Who can vote?

You can vote in the TSRA 2016 elections if you are:

  • a Torres Strait Islander or an Aboriginal person,
  • aged 18 years or over, and
  • correctly enrolled at an address within a ward

If you need to enrol, or have moved and need to update your enrolment address details, complete an online enrolment form and return it to the AEC by 5pm on Friday 15 July 2016.

How to make your vote count

You will receive one ballot paper for your ward. Take your time to complete the ballot paper and write clearly.

For your vote to count you must fill in your ballot paper correctly by:

  • putting a number '1' in the box next to the person you would most like to represent you (the candidate who is your first choice)

if you wish you may also:

  • put a number '2' in the box next to the person who is your second choice,
  • put a number '3' in the box beside your third choice and so on, until there is a number in every box

Postal vote application

If you will not be able to vote at a polling place on election day, at a mobile polling place, or at a pre-poll voting centre, then you can apply to have your ballot paper sent to you through the post.

You will need to fill in an application for a postal vote, which is available below or from the Returning Officer, the TSRA Office. Once you have filled it in, you must send the application to the Returning Officer who will then send you a Postal Voter Card and ballot paper. It is recommended that you post your application as early as possible, and it must be received by the Returning Officer by the last mail clearance on Thursday 28 July 2016 at the latest, to allow sufficient time for the voting material to be sent to you for completion and posting before the close of poll.

Contact information

Mr David Stuart, Returning Officer
Australian Electoral Commission
Floor 2, Commonwealth Centre
104 Grafton St, Cairns City

Telephone: 07 4051 7188
Fax: 07 3049 2181

Torres Strait Regional Authority
46 Victoria Parade, Thursday Island

Telephone: 07 4069 0700
Toll-free: 1800 079 093
Fax: 07 4069 1879,
Email: Governance&