Australian Electoral Commission

Industrial Elections

Updated: 1 July 2015
Industrial elections banner

Under the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 (the Act), the AEC must conduct all elections for office in registered organisations unless an exemption has been granted by the Fair Work Australia. This includes all elections and amalgamation ballots for trade unions and employer organisations that are registered under the Act. These elections are usually conducted by means of postal voting, and a wide variety of electoral systems are used.

Industrial elections currently being conducted by the AEC

Notices for industrial elections are usually displayed on the relevant organisation's website.

Australian Municipal, Administrative, Clerical and Services Union – National Executive

Police Federation of Australia

Australian Federal Police Association Branch

Health Services Union

Communications, Electrical, Electronic, Energy, Information, Postal, Plumbing and Allied Services Union of Australia

Electrical, Energy and Services Division

Electrical, Energy & Services Division – NSW Divisional Branch

Communications Division

Plumbing Division: Victorian Divisional Branch and Geelong Sub-Branch

United Firefighters' Union of Australia

South Australian Branch

Aviation Branch

Australian Rail Tram and Bus Union

Victorian Branch

Candidate Statements



For information on different aspects of the conduct of industrial elections please refer to the following resource material.

Model rules Guide