Australian Electoral Commission

Industrial Elections

Updated: 29 July 2015
Industrial elections banner

Under the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 (the Act), the AEC must conduct all elections for office in registered organisations unless an exemption has been granted by the Fair Work Australia. This includes all elections and amalgamation ballots for trade unions and employer organisations that are registered under the Act. These elections are usually conducted by means of postal voting, and a wide variety of electoral systems are used.

Industrial elections currently being conducted by the AEC

Notices for industrial elections are usually displayed on the relevant organisation's website.

Australian Education Union – A.C.T. Branch

Australian Education Union – NSW Teachers Federation Branch

Federal officers

Branch councillors

Australian Education Union – Victorian Branch

Branch Officers and Ordinary Members of Sector Councils

Australian Municipal, Administrative, Clerical and Services Union – National Executive

Australian Rail Tram and Bus Union

Victorian Branch

Communications, Electrical, Electronic, Energy, Information, Postal, Plumbing and Allied Services Union of Australia

Communications Division

Electrical, Energy and Services Division

Electrical, Energy & Services Division – NSW Divisional Branch

Electrical, Energy & Services Division – Queensland and NT Divisional Branch

Electrical, Energy & Services Division – Victorian Divisional Branch

Plumbing Division: Victorian Divisional Branch and Geelong Sub-Branch

Police Federation of Australia

Australian Federal Police Association Branch

Western Australia Police Branch