2019 federal election: election funding payments finalised

Updated: 12 December 2019

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has finalised election funding payments to political parties, candidates and Senate groups for the 2019 federal election.

The way election funding was paid was new for the 2019 federal election. This follows passage of the Electoral Legislation Amendment (Electoral Funding and Disclosure Reform) Act 2018, which came into effect on 1 January 2019.

Parties, candidates and Senate groups that received 4 per cent of the formal first preference vote at the 18 May election received an automatic payment of election funding of $10,080.

To receive election funding greater than the automatic payment, agents of eligible political parties, candidates or Senate groups were required to lodge a claim with the AEC setting out electoral expenditure incurred. For the 2019 federal election, the period for lodging a claim for funding was 7 June 2019 to 17 November 2019.

The determinations for claims for funding are published on the Transparency Register.

Total election funding paid by the AEC in relation to the 2019 election was $69,647,101.79. This amount includes $584,640 in automatic payments and $69,062,461.79 in claims accepted.

Editor’s notes:

Election funding payment summary – 2019 federal election

Total election funding paid by the AEC in relation to the 2019 federal election was $69,647,101.79 – $68,635,245.75 of which was paid to political parties and $1,011,856.04 to independent candidates (including the Senate group). The breakdown of the payments is shown in the tables below. The totals include the automatic payment ($10,080 per party, candidate and Senate group).

Political parties
Political Party Total Election Funding Paid
Liberal Party of Australia $27,569,610.09
Australian Labor Party (ALP) $24,684,039.58
Pauline Hanson's One Nation $2,840,766.45
National Party of Australia - N.S.W. $2,570,290.39
The Australian Greens - Victoria $2,295,761.78
The Greens NSW $2,128,452.89
Queensland Greens $1,573,775.22
National Party of Australia - Victoria $1,321,417.93
Australian Greens $1,146,203.86
The Greens (WA) Inc $919,806.74
United Australia Party $650,382.92
Country Liberals (Northern Territory) $213,176.60
Katter's Australian Party (KAP) $175,981.62
Centre Alliance $120,847.84
Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party $84,093.82
Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group) $77,862.51
Liberal Democratic Party $62,280.00
Jacqui Lambie Network $54,875.42
National Party of Australia (WA) Inc $51,462.79
Victorian Socialists $34,320.47
Derryn Hinch's Justice Party $24,542.18
Reason Australia $13,107.54
Animal Justice Party $12,107.11
Australia First Party (NSW) Incorporated $10,080.00
Total $68,635,245.75
Independent Candidates (including the Senate group)
Independent Candidate / Senate Group Total Election Funding Paid
Zali Steggall $110,333.70
Andrew Wilkie $93,045.32
Helen Haines $90,021.98
Kerryn Phelps $80,224.40
Robert Oakeshott $71,234.33
Kevin Mack $54,916.06
Adam Blakester $38,043.82
Julia Banks $36,839.45
Senate Group -  Anthony Pesec and Gary Kent $34,736.62
Alice Thompson $33,003.10
Oliver Yates $24,500.84
Jason Modica $24,239.02
Ray Kingston $23,759.48
Jamie Christie $21,174.35
Craig Brakey $20,997.96
Grant Schultz $20,904.26
Louise Stewart $19,021.91
Jarrod Bingham $17,844.47
Huw Kingston $16,723.41
Nathan Herbert $15,083.59
Van Tran $14,623.34
Fiona Leviny $14,441.44
Innes Larkin $14,234.74
Damien Cole $14,141.00
Andrew Bock $12,625.24
Arthur Chesterfield-Evans $11,837.02
Tim Jerome $11,630.32
Tim Bohm $11,194.87
Alex Dyson $10,080.00
Hamish MacFarlane $10,080.00
Jeremy Miller $10,080.00
Simone Karandrews $10,080.00
Sue Fraser-Adams $10,080.00
Will Landers $10,080.00
Total $1,011,856.04
Back to top