Australian Capital Territory Senators have been decided

Updated: 13 June 2019

The Australian Electoral Commission has announced that the count for the election of two Senators for the Australian Capital Territory was completed today.

The successful candidates for the two Senate vacancies for the Australian Capital Territory are (in order of their election):

  1. GALLAGHER, Katy – Australian Labor Party
  2. SESELJA, Zed – Liberal

The Australian Electoral Officer for the Australian Capital Territory, Mr Sean Ferrari, said the distribution of preferences was conducted today.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates,” Mr Ferrari said.

All 2019 federal election results are available on the AEC’s tally room.

Invitation: Declaration of the Poll

Mr Ferrari said the formal Declaration of the Poll for the 2019 election of Senators for the Australian Capital Territory will take place at 3:00pm on Friday, 14 June and will be held at 103 Northbourne Ave Turner.

All candidates and the media are invited to attend, and RSVPs are not required.

Back to top