AEC invites written suggestions into the redistribution of federal electoral divisions in Queensland

Updated: 19 April 2017

Members of the public are invited to submit written suggestions about the redistribution of federal electoral divisions in Queensland.

The Chair of the Redistribution Committee for Queensland (the Committee) and Australian Electoral Commissioner, Tom Rogers said that written suggestions must be received by the committee by 6pm (AEST) Friday 19 May 2017.

“Suggestions may refer to either the name of an electoral division, its geographical boundaries or both,” Mr Rogers said.

“While the boundaries of the existing federal electoral divisions are being considered, Queensland’s entitlement in the House of Representatives remains the same with 30 divisions.”

In making its proposal of revised electoral divisions, the committee must ensure that the number of electors in each division meets strict numerical criteria.

"In addition to the numerical requirements, the committee will consider communities of interest, means of communication and travel, and the physical features and area of the proposed divisions,” Mr Rogers said.

The best way to lodge a submission with the Redistribution Committee is online. Suggestions and comments can also be submitted:

  • by email:
  • in person: Redistribution Committee for Queensland, 7th Floor, 488 Queen Street, Brisbane
  • by mail: Redistribution Committee for Queensland, GPO Box 2590, Brisbane QLD 4001, or
  • by fax: 07 3834 3496

The Committee will continue its consultation process by making all suggestions received available for public inspection from Monday 22 May 2017. The public will then have until 6pm (AEST) on Friday 2 June 2017 to lodge any written comments they may have on the suggestions.

Editor’s notes: