Commencement of the redistribution of federal electoral divisions in Queensland

Updated: 6 January 2017

The redistribution of federal electoral divisions in Queensland has commenced today.

Australian Electoral Commissioner, Tom Rogers said that the Queensland redistribution is occurring as more than seven years has elapsed since the last federal redistribution in the state.

"A determination on 13 November 2014, based on population figures, provided that the House of Representatives entitlement for Queensland remains unchanged at thirty members," Mr Rogers said.

An independent Redistribution Committee will be appointed to undertake the redistribution in Queensland and the Committee will be supported by a small secretariat of staff from the AEC.

The redistribution process provides opportunities for individuals and organisations to propose where the electoral division boundaries could be located, or the name of an electoral division.

Members of the public will be invited to submit their suggestions about the redistribution. Guidelines are available to assist people or organisations interested in submitting their suggestions.

An indicative timetable for the federal redistribution process in Queensland is available at

Editor's notes: