



## **Objection 25**

Anthony Allison

ACT secretariat Phone (02) 6160 2616 Fax (02) 6293 7660 Email FedRedistribution-ACT@aec.gov.au

Dear Australian Electoral Commission,

I am emailing in regard to an objection to the proposed name for the proposed 3<sup>rd</sup> electoral division in the Australian Capital Territory. While I have no doubt of Charles Bean's meritorious commitment to the development of, and outstanding service to, Australia, I have an objection to the proposed electoral division being named after him.

Currently in Australia, 88 of the existing 150 electoral divisions are named after men, excluding Indigenous men. If one includes Indigenous men, as well as electoral divisions named after cities, regions and/or other geographical landmarks, which are themselves named after men, that number rises to 103 (excluding the five existing electoral divisions named after both men and women or prominent families). If the AEC's proposed renaming of Victoria's divisions (i.e. Conrangamite, McMillan, Melbourne Ports and Murray) go ahead without alteration (as well as the acceptance of the name "Bean"), the result will be the out of 151 electoral divisions, 18 will be solely named after women and 104 will be named after men. (This excludes the as of yet unnamed proposed electoral addition to Victoria.)

It seems that the names of electorates not only reflect those people who have made important contributions to Australia, but also those people whom Australians, as a whole, respect and admire. And while Charles Bean is certainly an Australian worthy of respect, another electoral division named after a prominent female Australian would be a chance, not only for the AEC to acknowledge the important, and often unrecognised, role than women have played in the development of Australia and to counteract the significant gender imbalance of Australia's electorate names, but would also signal that significant and pioneering Australian women are worthy of our respect and admiration.

As such, I feel it would be more appropriate for the proposed 3<sup>rd</sup> ACT electorate to be named after a pioneering and significant Australian women. Possible choices could include Faith Bandler, an important supporter of Indigenous rights in Australia, and a leader of the 1967 Constitutional referendum campaign, Catherine Helen Spence, a writer, teacher, suffragist and Australia's first female political candidate, or Beryl Nashar, the first women to be given a Rotary Scholarship to attend Cambridge University, the first women to earn a PhD in geology from an Australian university and Australia's first female Dean.

Thank you for your time,

Anthony Allison.