

Commonwealth of Australia

No. S 52, Wednesday, 6 April 2011 Published by the Commonwealth of Australia



The Federal Redistribution 2011 South Australia

Gazette



SPECIA

REDISTRIBUTION OF FEDERAL ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES

IN SOUTH AUSTRALIA

PUBLIC SUGGESTIONS AND COMMENTS

In accordance with section 64 of the *Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918* (Electoral Act), the Electoral Commissioner invites interested persons or organisations to make written suggestions and comments about the redistribution of federal electoral boundaries in South Australia for the House of Representatives.

WHY A REDISTRIBUTION?

A redistribution of federal electoral boundaries in South Australia is due because seven years have elapsed since the last redistribution. On 12 January 2011, in accordance with section 59 of the Electoral Act, the Electoral Commission directed that a redistribution commence. South Australia is entitled to 11 members in the House of Representatives.

WHO IS ON THE REDISTRIBUTION COMMITTEE?

The Electoral Commission will appoint a Redistribution Committee for South Australia. The Electoral Act requires that the Redistribution Committee comprise the Electoral Commissioner, the Australian Electoral Officer for South Australia and two senior state officials.

LEGAL REQUIREMENTS FOR A REDISTRIBUTION

In making its proposed redistribution, the Redistribution Committee is bound by section 66 of the Electoral Act.

The number of electors in each proposed electoral division must not deviate by more than 10% above or below the enrolment quota. The quota of electors for each electoral division in South Australia was determined by the Electoral Commissioner to be 100 636 as at 12 January 2011.

At 21 January 2015, the projected number of electors enrolled in each electoral division should not be less than 96.5% or more than 103.5% of the projected average divisional enrolment for South Australia at that time.

The actual and projected enrolment figures, and the redistribution timetable, are available on the AEC's website: <u>http://www.aec.gov.au/Electorates/Redistributions/2011/sa/index.htm</u>.

Section 66 of the Electoral Act also provides that the Redistribution Committee:

"give due consideration, in relation to each proposed Electoral Division, to:

- *(i) community of interests within the proposed Electoral Division, including economic, social and regional interests;*
- (ii) means of communication and travel within the proposed Electoral Division;
- (iv) the physical features and area of the proposed Electoral Division; and
- (v) the boundaries of existing Divisions in the State or Territory"

Consideration of existing boundaries is subordinate to the other factors set out above.

THE REDISTRIBUTION PROCESS

The redistribution is carried out in accordance with the Electoral Act. The key stages of the redistribution process are as follows.

Step 1 - Public suggestions

Any interested person or organisation who wishes to make suggestions relating to the boundaries or names of electoral divisions, has until **6.00 pm Central Standard Time (CST) on Friday 6 May 2011** to lodge them in writing with the Redistribution Committee at the address outlined in the *Guidelines For Public Suggestions* section below. Suggestions received after the prescribed lodgement time cannot be accepted.

Persons or organisations making suggestions are requested, where practical, to provide any paper maps in A4 size to facilitate copying.

Step 2 - Comments on the public suggestions

The suggestions will be available for public inspection **from Monday 9 May 2011** at the office of the Australian Electoral Officer for South Australia (9th Floor, 1 King William Street, Adelaide) and on the Australian Electoral Commission's (AEC) website (<u>www.aec.gov.au</u>). Any comments on the suggestions must be lodged in writing with the Redistribution Committee by **6.00 pm CST on 20 May 2011**. Comments received after the prescribed lodgement time cannot be accepted.

Step 3 - Redistribution proposal

After considering the written suggestions and comments, the Redistribution Committee will propose a redistribution of federal electoral boundaries for South Australia. Maps showing the proposed boundaries and names of divisions will then be published in selected newspapers, on the AEC website and exhibited at all AEC offices in South Australia, AEC State Offices in each state and the Northern Territory, and the AEC National Office in Canberra.

Step 4 - Objections to the proposed redistribution

Objections to the proposed redistribution must then be lodged within 28 days. There is a further 14-day period for lodgement of written comments on any objections.

Step 5 - Objections considered by the augmented Electoral Commission

The augmented Electoral Commission for South Australia considers all objections and comments. The augmented Electoral Commission comprises the members of the Redistribution Committee together with the Chairman of the AEC and the non-judicial Commissioner (currently the Australian Statistician).

Step 6 - The second redistribution proposal

After it has considered all objections and comments, the augmented Electoral Commission will make its own proposed redistribution.

Step 7 - Further objections

If the augmented Electoral Commission's proposed redistribution is significantly different from the Redistribution Committee's proposal, the augmented Electoral Commission will invite further objections.

Step 8 - Final determination

After considering all submissions the augmented Electoral Commission will make a final determination of boundaries and names of the electoral divisions for South Australia.

3

GUIDELINES FOR PUBLIC SUGGESTIONS

Written suggestions relating to the redistribution in South Australia must be lodged with the Redistribution Committee by 6.00 pm CST on Friday 6 May 2011:

| Redistribution Committee for South Australia | |
|--|------------------|
| 9 th Floor | Postal Address: |
| 1 King William Street | GPO Box 344 |
| Adelaide SA 5000 | Adelaide SA 5001 |

or by email to: saredistribution@aec.gov.au

Telephone: (08) 8237 6575

Fax: (08) 8237 6584

The Electoral Act requires that submissions to the Redistribution Committee be made **publicly available**. Copies of all submissions will be made available in full for public inspection at the address above, in accordance with the Electoral Act. All submissions will also be published in full on the AEC's website and included in reports produced by the Redistribution Committee and the augmented Electoral Commission for South Australia. Name, signature and address details of persons and organisations that lodge written submissions are published as part of these processes. Further information about the disclosure of personal details is available in the *Guidelines for Making Public Submissions* which are on the AEC's website (www.aec.gov.au) or can be obtained from the Redistribution Secretariat (contact details below).

MORE INFORMATION

Persons or organisations intending to make submissions to the Redistribution Committee are urged to take account of the requirements of the Electoral Act. In particular, those making submissions are advised to ensure their submissions are in the physical possession of the South Australian Redistribution Committee Secretariat staff by the relevant closing time. Copies of the *Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918* can be purchased from CanPrint Information Services (Ph: 1300 889 873) or can be accessed via the AEC's website under the heading *Publications*.

Details on the conventions used for naming federal divisions can be obtained from the AEC's website.

The maps of current electoral boundaries are available for purchase at offices of the AEC in South Australia.

Further information can be obtained from the Redistribution Secretariat:

Email: saredistribution@aec.gov.au

Telephone: (08) 8237 6575.

Ed Killesteyn Electoral Commissioner