

The Federal Redistribution 2011 South Australia



Comment Number 3 On Public Objections

Kyam Maher - State Secretary Australian Labor Party (SA)

4 pages



23rd September 2011

Redistribution Committee of South Australia 9th Floor Origin Energy House 1 King William Street ADELAIDE SA 5000

Dear Committee Members,

On behalf of the Australian Labor Party, please find attached comments on objections to the 2011 Redistribution proposal for South Australia.

Regards

2

Kyam Maher State Secretary

141 Gilles St, Adelaide SA 5000 Phone 8418 6700 Fax 8418 6701 info@sa.alp.org.au ABN 48 233 806 788

Australian Labor Party

Comments on Objections to the 2011 Redistribution Committee for South Australia

The Barossa Council submits, like the ALP, that the Barossa Council local Government area should not be further divided electorates as the draft proposal of the Redistribution Committee suggests.

This is understandable and the ALP reiterates the suggestion put forward in our objections to the proposed redistribution dated 9 September 2011.

"If the 2 066 Barossa Council electors proposed to be transferred from Mayo to Wakefield remain in Mayo, and that the 2 619 Barossa Council electors proposed to be transferred from Barker to Wakefield instead be transferred to Mayo, then the Barossa Council would remain split between only two electorates. The ALP suggested that some of the suburbs in the Salisbury area that are proposed to be transferred from the Division of Wakefield to the Division of Port Adelaide remain in the Division of Wakefield to ensure numerical tolerances are better met, and communities of interest are better protected."

The ALP notes that the Barossa Council has suggested that their Council area is placed within a single Electorate. Whilst this may be an understandable desire it is curious that the Barossa Council would suggest that the most appropriate Division for the whole of the Council to be united in would be Wakefield. It would seem that given the choice of Mayo, Barker and Wakefield then the Division of Wakefield would be the least suitable electorate for the Barossa Council to be accommodated in.

Barossa Council in Barker

By far the closest wine producing region to the Barossa Valley area is the substantially similar Eden Valley – which currently sits within Barker and would remain in Barker under the proposed redistribution. There is much in common between the Barossa Valley region and the Eden Valley region and there is a strong argument that if the whole Barossa Council area was to be in one electorate then Barker would be a much more logical fit than Wakefield (which comprises large areas of suburban Adelaide).

Barossa Council in Mayo

More compelling, however, is the argument that if the whole of the Barossa Council were to be united in one electorate then it should be in Mayo. Currently, and pursuant to the proposed redistribution, Mayo is a predominantly rural division with a distinctively near city agricultural focus.

Certainly, the Adelaide Hills area, and the Victor Harbor area that is already in Mayo (as well as the McLaren Vale area that is proposed to be transferred to Mayo) feature tourism and food and wine production as distinctive features. All these areas are located relatively close to the Adelaide metropolitan area and a proportion of the residents of these areas commute to Adelaide for work.

Mayo is centred around the Adelaide Hills (itself a wine producing area of note) with McLaren Vale being at the Southern end of the Adelaide Hills and the Barossa Valley at the Northern end.

Apart from both being major wine tourist destinations very close to Adelaide that are known primarily for producing red wine, there is much in common between the McLaren Vale area and the Barossa Valley area that suggest they should be in the same electorate. They both contain commuter populations and they have a number of large townships in their region (Barossa Valley - Tanunda, Angaston, Nuriootpa. McLaren Vale – Willunga, McLaren Vale, McLaren Flat).

None of the abovementioned features are shared between the Barossa Valley and the Clare Valley. The Clare Valley is not, per se, at all connected to the Adelaide Hills region, it is an area known predominantly for white wine production, is significantly further from Adelaide, has no Adelaide commuter population, and is centred around the single large town in the area – Clare.

Given the similarities the Barossa Valley area has with the McLaren Vale area, and the differences it has with Clare, it is curious that the Barossa Council would suggest that both their Council area and Clare ought to be placed in the District of Wakefield.

The Barossa Council themselves consider that they have more in common with the Adelaide Hills area than with the rest of the area that makes up the Division of Wakefield, and they have demonstrated this with their formal association with the Southern Hills Local Government Association.

The local Councils in the area of the Federal Division of Wakefield form the "Wakefield Group"; a group of Councils that come together as an umbrella body to plan strategically to undertake programmes and projects.

The local Councils included in the "Wakefield Group" are:

- District Council of Clare and Gilbert Valleys
- Town of Gawler
- Light Regional
- District Council of Mallala
- City of Playford
- City of Salisbury
- Wakefield Regional

In December 2009 the Barossa Council joined the "Wakefield Group" but just 15 months later <u>in March 2011 the Barossa Council withdrew as a member of</u> <u>the Wakefield Group and rejoined the *Southern Hills Local Government* <u>Association.</u></u> The local Councils included in the "Southern Hills Local Government Association" are:

- Adelaide Hills Council
- Alexandrina Council
- The Barossa Council
- Kangaroo Island Council
- District Council of Mt Barker
- City of Victor Harbor
- District Council of Yankalilla

Every single Council within the Southern Hills Local Government Association is entirely or partly in the Division of Mayo. Every single Council within the "Wakefield Group" is entirely or partly in the Division of Wakefield. And by withdrawing from the Wakefield Group, and joining the Southern Hills Government Association, the Barossa Council has clearly demonstrated that they feel they have much stronger ties with the Councils that fall within the Federal Division of Mayo.

The decision of the Barossa Council to align themselves with an umbrella group covering areas such as the Adelaide Hills and Victor Harbor makes sense because of their strong communities of interest with food and wine production areas close to Adelaide – rather than with the areas that make up the Division of Wakefield.

For the reasons outlined above, and given that the Barossa Council chose to align themselves in a Council group within the Division of Mayo, the ALP suggests if the Barossa Council area was to be united, it only makes sense if it is to be in Mayo. However, it remains the ALP's contention that the objectives of this redistribution are best met having the Barossa Council area split between Mayo and Barker in the manner outlined in our objections dated 9 September 2011.