

# **Public Suggestion Number 5**

Craig Rickards

4 pages

From: Craig Rickards

Sent: Thursday, 8 April 2010 2:25 PM

To: VIC Redistribution

Subject: Submission - 2010 Victorian Federal Electoral Redistribuition [SEC=UNOFFICIAL]

Attachments: 2010 Redistribution Proposal.doc

## **UNOFFICIAL**

Att - Redistribution Committee for Victoria

Please find attached a copy of my submission into proposed changes to electoral boundaries.

Rrds

# Craig R Rickards

## **UNOFFICIAL**

# Subject – 2010 Victorian Federal Electoral Redistribution

Redistribution Committee for Victoria 8<sup>th</sup> Floor, Casseldon Place, 2 Lonsdale St Melbourne VIC 3000

Att - Brett Lambden

Redistribution Secretariat

From - Craig Rickards

## Without Prejudice.

In accordance with the provisions outlined under s64(1)(a) of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 the following comments are provided to assist the Redistribution Committee for Victoria in its deliberations when considering boundary changes within the State of Victoria and specifically changes to the federal division of Murray.

The quota of electors' as advised by the Electoral Commissioner on 1 February 2010 is to be 94 040.

In determining proposals to alter Electoral Divisions boundaries s66 of the Commonwealth Electoral Act provides that consideration be given to factors such as Community of Interest, means of communication and travel, physical features and the existing boundaries of Divisions in the State or Territory.

In addition to the above mentioned criteria, consideration must also be given where ever possible in ensuring that whole Local Government Areas (LGA's) and by extension localities are wholly contained within the external boundaries of electoral divisions.

Based on actual enrolment as at 1 February, 2010 the federal division of Murray had 88 778 eligible electors on the roll <sup>1</sup>.

Given the declining enrolment rates in rural divisions such as Murray it will become necessary to adjust the current boundaries in order to comply with s66(3)(a) of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918.

Listed below is a scenario that the redistribution committee may wish to consider in its deliberations when determining the boundaries for this division.

#### Proposal -

That the entire Loddon Shire be transferred to the Division of Mallee and the Division of Murray would take the remaining portion of Moira Shire, the whole of Strathbogie Shire and a portion of Benalla Rural City from the Division of Indi.

This would address issues of community interest and maintain the division's relationship with the geography of the area namely, the Murray River from which the division derives its name.

Enrolment Projections <sup>2</sup> –

Existing Division of Murray Actual Enrolment Estimate Growth 1/2/2010 17/6/2014 % Campaspe Shire 25 882 27 127 4.81 **Greater Shepparton** 39 168 40 500 3.40 6.34 Moira Shire (Murray) 18 693 19 880 Plus From Indi Moira Shire (Indi) 844 839 - 0.59 Strathbogie Shire 7 683 4.78 7 332

<sup>1</sup> Source - AEC Website Victorian Redistribution 2010. Enrolment Projections for the State of Victoria.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Source – AEC Website Victorian Redistribution 2010. Enrolment Projections for Victoria by Electoral Division.

# Enrolment Projections <sup>2</sup> (Cont') –

		Actual Enrolment 1/2/2010	Estimate 17/6/2014	Growth %
Plus				
From Indi				
Benalla Rural City				
CCD's	2-05-04-01	314	313	-0.32
	2-05-04-02	366	376	2.73
	2-05-04-09	525	521	-0.76
	2-05-04-10	418	455	8.85
	2-05-04-11	355	393	10.70
Less				
To Mallee				
Loddon Shire		- 5 035	- 4 895	- 2.79
Murray Electoral Enrolment		88 862	93 192	4.87

It is my belief that the changes I have put forward comply with s66(3)(a)(b) of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918.

I trust this information will be of assistance to the committee during its deliberations.

Yours sincerely

Craig Rickards

Colleman