PUBLIC SUGGESTION

The Federal Redistribution 2009
NSW

Public Suggestion Number 65 by

Barry and Jan Longmore

2 Pages



Australian Electoral Commission Redistribution Committee P.O. Box K 406 HAYMARKET N.S.W. 1240

32 Merinda Cresc. Kooringal N.S.W. 2650

Sir,

We are writing in connection with the proposed redistribution of Electoral boundaries in N.S.W.

We have concerns on two grounds. Firstly, information is circulating that the Federal Labor Government may recommend the Riverina seat [currently held by the National Party] as the one to be abolished. Perhaps we are nieve, but surely the process should be non-political [irrespective of the Party in power] and any redistribution carried out in accordance with fair and proper established guidelines.

Secondly, in the spirit of fairness, surely Regional N.S.W. is entitled to adequate representation. Several Regional seats [including Riverina] cover very large areas which already inhibit reasonable access to their local Member. We are informed that Regional N.S.W. has 15 Electorates which represent some 98% of the State whilst Metropolitan areas have 34 Electorates representing less than 1.5 % of the State, admittedly with a denser population base. These Metropolitan seats would provide much easier access to their local Member due to shorter distances and public transport facilities. We do not accept access by technological means [Phone, Fax, Computer] as reasonable as face- to face consultation in respect of sensitive matters. Surely therefore the loss of one of these 34 seats would make more sense and have less impact on the voters of N.S.W.

Specifically in respect of Riverina, this Electorate embraces the major Regional centre of Wagga Wagga [N.S.W. largest inland City] as well as the significant Cities of Griffith, Leeton and Cootamundra and, in our view, are entitled to retain their existing seat with reasonable access to their local Member, irrespective of what persuasion.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Longmore 28/4/2009

Jan. Longmore

RECEIVED

2 9 APR 2009 REDISTRIBUTION NSW