PUBLIC SUGGESTION

The Federal Redistribution 2009 NSW



Public Suggestion Number $\mathbf{26}$

by

Stephen Scanes

3 Pages

4 Coral Gum Rd

Hamlyn Terrace NSW 2259

(PO Box 6188 Gorokan NSW 2263)

NSW Redistribution Committee

PO Box K406

Haymarket NSW 1240



Re.: Submission to 2009 NSW Redistribution Committee

Considerations for Divisions of Robertson and Dobell

To whom it may concern,

Preamble

As an elector enrolled in the Division of Dobell, I would like to put forward some suggestions regarding any potential boundary changes occurring to the two Federal Divisions centred on the NSW Central Coast as a result of the 2009 NSW Redistribution.

The following assumptions pre-empt my suggestions -

- that Broken Bay and the Hawkesbury River be considered as natural boundaries (Sect. 66 (3)(b)(iv), Commonwealth Electoral Act, 1918), and
- that community affiliations be considered (Sect. 66 (3)(b)(i), Commonwealth Electoral Act, 1918)

Division of Robertson

Based on published enrolment figures from 19 February 2009, the Division of Robertson does not need to gain many electors to achieve quota in July 2012. I estimate that approximately 1000 electors would be needed.

I suggest that the boundary for Robertson be extended to include some more of the locality of Wamberal, following the predominantly southern side of The Entrance Rd, Wamberal from the existing boundary at Willoughby Rd, Wamberal to the intersection of The Entrance Rd, Wamberal and Ocean View Dr, Wamberal; then following the northern boundaries of CCD numbers 1-22-08-06 and 1-22-08-12 to the lagoon and ocean.

This will result in electors south and east of this area would be transferred from Dobell to Robertson, with approximately 1000 electors affected. Electors living in this area are within the Gosford City Council boundary, and have their main shopping centre (Erina Fair), administration centre and transport hub (Gosford) within Robertson.

Division of Dobell

Based on published enrolment figures from 19 February 2009, the Division of Dobell would need to gain between approximately 3000 and 4000 electors to achieve quota in July 2012. Despite the fact that Dobell is a growth area, if the changes suggested to Robertson above are put in place, then the northern boundary of Dobell would need to change to allow for the quota to be achieved.

I suggest two possible scenarios –

- That the localities of Lake Haven and the portions of Kanwal and Gorokan that are currently part of the Division of Shortland be added to the Division of Dobell. This area encompasses the area from the locality of Lake Haven; then east of Pacific Hwy to the Wallarah Rd intersection; then north of Wallarah Rd to Budgewoi Lake; and then following the Budgewoi Lake back to the northern locality boundary of Lake Haven (CCD 1-21-04-03); or
- 2. That all the area described in Scenario 1 plus the portion of Charmhaven that is currently part of the Division of Shortland be added to the Division of Dobell, resulting in Wallarah Creek being the boundary.

If Scenario 1 is adopted Dobell would see a gain of approximately 4000 electors from the area described (17 CCDs). If Scenario 2 is adopted Dobell would see a gain of approximately 5000 electors from the area described (21 CCDs).

With both scenarios, electors living in this area are within the Wyong Shire Council boundary, and have their main administration centre and transport hub (Wyong) within Dobell.

Conclusion

If both the suggestion for Robertson and the suggestion for Dobell are adopted, both Divisions would be close to achieving quota in July 2012.

The suggested new boundaries would be easy to describe to, and easy to be understood by electors.

Robertson would gain approximately 1000 electors and Dobell would have a net gain of 3000 electors with Scenario 1 and a net gain of 4000 electors with scenario 2.

Yours faithfully,

Stephen Scanes, B.Sc., Dip. Ed.