OBJECTION

The Federal Redistribution 2009 NSW



Objection Number 153

by

Susan Gregory, Stephen Lesslie and Marian Lesslie

1 Pages

From: Sent: To: Susan Gregory [sgregory@ihug.com.au] Thursday, 3 September 2009 11:40 PM

NSW Redistribution
The seat of Calare

lo: Subject:

Comment on Proposed Redistribution of New South South Wales 2009

We propose that the new seat of Calare be renamed *Evatt*.

Calare has now been abolished twice - once in 2004 when the seat of Gwydir was renamed Parkes and the seat of Parkes was renamed Calare, and again in the current redistribution proposal in which the 2007 seat of Calare has been abolished and the pre-2004 seat of Calare restored. It is worth noting that the member for Parkes in 2004, Mr John Cobb, contested the seat of Calare at the 2007 election – Mr Cobb notes on his website that 80% of the old Parkes ended up in Calare.

A seat that once contained White Cliffs and Wilcannia cannot be considered to be the same seat if it now contains Lithgow and Wallerawang; it is a different electorate.

We ask the Electoral Commissioners to acknowledge this enormous change by renaming the seat, and we recommend Evatt.

Dr H. V. Evatt was a member of the NSW Parliament, a High Court Judge, Federal Minister for External Affairs and Attorney General, President of the United Nations General Assembly, Leader of the Opposition and Chief Justice of the NSW Supreme Court. Such a prominent figure in Australian history should be recognised.

Thank you for this opportunity to comment on your proposal.

Sincerely,

Susan Gregory, Stephen Lesslie and Marian Lesslie

74 Thompson Street Drummoyne NSW 2047

sgregory@ihug.com.au

