## **OBJECTION**

The Federal Redistribution 2009
NSW

## Objection Number 15

by

Ken Trethewey, General Manager, Cootamundra Shire Council

2 Pages



Wallendoon Street
PO Box 420
Cootamundra NSW 2590
Phone 02 6940 2100
Fax 02 6940 2127
Email mail@cootamundra.nsw.gov.au
Web www.cootamundra.local-e.nsw.gov.au

RECEIVED

2 D AUG 2009

REDISTRIBUTION NSW

The Electoral Commissioner Australian Electoral Commission PO Box K406 Haymarket NSW 1240

Dear Sir.

RE: Proposed Redistribution of Cootamundra Statistical Local Area from the Electorate of Riverina to the Electorate of Hume

Ken Trethewey
OUT-090818-KJT-00/

Cootamundra Shire Council wishes to lodge a submission in opposition to the proposed redistribution of Cootamundra Statistical Local Area from the Electorate of Riverina to the Electorate of Hume on the basis of lack of relationship generally with the Electorate of Hume.

The AEC is required by legislation to draw new boundaries which ensure, as far as practicable, that the number of electors in each division at 16<sup>th</sup> July 2012 does not vary more than 3.5% below and above the State's average projected enrolment of 98,907 electors per electorate.

The AEC is also required to take into account community of interests, communication and transport links, physical features, and current federal boundaries when making its proposal.

Line 160 of the AEC report makes reference to the Committee recognising a 'community of interest' in the western part of Riverina, and as a result moving a group of council's from the Electorate of Calare into the Electorate of Riverina.

However, there is no mention anywhere in the report of the community of interests that apply to Cootamundra.

The seat of Riverina is based around Wagga Wagga and the Riverina geographical area and all of Cootamundra's interactions, communication and transport links, physical features, and interests are also based around Wagga Wagga and the Riverina.

Cootamundra has absolutely no community of interest, communications, transport links or interactions with Goulburn or the Southern Highlands around which the seat of Hume is based.

Council would also argue that the people of Cootamundra deserve some stability in the electoral process and that this has been denied to them in the last Federal redistribution and the last two State redistributions.

Council also wishes to make it known that it has no issues related to the political persuasion or effectiveness of the present representatives in either Hume or Riverina Electorates, but simply does not see any justification beyond purely statistical manipulation in the proposed move from Riverina to Hume. Council would argue that based simply on achieving numbers the same result would be achieved by leaving Cootamundra in Riverina and leaving Tumut in Eden-Monaro instead of transferring it to Riverina.

Should you require further information or wish to discuss the matter please contact me on 02 69402100.

Yours faithfully

Ken Trethewey

General Manager

18 August 2009