



Suggestion 41

David M

5 pages

The abolished seat

The reduction in seat entitlements means that one federal division must be abolished in New South Wales. The most obvious place for this to occur is in the northern suburbs of Sydney, where the seats are significantly below quota east of Castle Hill.

While there is also a significant cluster of seats below quota in the area surrounding Canterbury-Bankstown, the area's proximity to high-growth areas in south-west Sydney means that this can easily be accounted for through boundary shift.

Of the northern suburbs seats, the two best candidates for abolition are Berowra and Bradfield. Both are significantly below quota and neither are federation seats. Bradfield has a longer history as a seat and Berowra has a geographical name, which should generally be avoided under AEC guidelines.

However, it is worth noting that the construction of the Western Sydney airport is planned to lead to the development of "Sydney's third centre" in the suburb that is set to be known as "Bradfield". It is therefore likely that the geographical name of Bradfield will be more associated with this location than the northern suburbs electorate. It is therefore suggested that the "Berowra" name be retained and the seat of "Bradfield" abolished.

The wider state

The council amalgamations undertaken in 2016

This submission does not take each seat into account the full State redistribution. The recent NSW State redistribution that occurred in 2021 forms the basis of the concept behind the broader proposal. This submission leans heavily on the work undertaken in this redistribution. While the data and projections are two years out of date, the submission takes the view that the federal redistribution should generally attempt to map federal divisions to two State divisions. NSW is currently divided into ninety-three electoral districts. Its federal entitlement is almost exactly half that at forty-six.

It is the view of this submission that while state district boundaries need not be strictly followed, following them assists in voter confidence in engaging with politics in that voters can have greater confidence that they understand the boundaries of their governmental representation if they are the same for federal and state. Please find attached a map representation of this concept, noting that this does not indicate the submission. Please also find attached a table listing which state districts are assigned to each federal division.

While some obvious boundary shifts are required (most visually obvious in Grayndler, Sydney and McMahon), this method forms the general view of the simplest way to arrange the seats.

93 being an odd number, not all federal seats can be divided into two state seats, with the state seat of Upper Hunter not having an obvious federal seat. Its territory is proposed to be divided between New England, Lyne and Hunter, as currently stands.

Specific seats

 Wentworth: Wentworth should be extended further south into areas of Randwick City Council currently occupied by Kingsford Smith

- **Kingsford Smith:** Kingsford Smith should be extended west into areas of Bayside Council currently occupied by Barton. It is noteworthy that at the time of the last redistribution, the western boundary of Kingsford Smith was a boundary between Botany Bay LGA and Rockdale LGA. Council amalgamations have meant that this boundary no longer exists.
- **Barton:** Barton should extend south into the St George areas of Cook and south of the railway line into Banks. It should cede its Canterbury-Bankstown LGA territory to Watson.
- **Banks:** Banks should cede some of its eastern territory to Barton and extend further north into Canterbury-Bankstown LGA territory west of Salt Pan Creek.
- Cook: Cook should exclude the areas of Georges River Council and Bayside Council north of the Georges River and be extended west across the Sutherland Shire. SA2 data indicates that the seat should meet quota when the boundary is extended to include the full Sutherland-Kirrawee SA2 (128021538)
- Hughes: Hughes should cover the remainder of the Sutherland Shire not covered by Cook above (including the northern suburbs of the Heathcote state electorate – which do not belong in an Illawarra federal electorate). It should then extend west to cover the eastern side of the Liverpool LGA, including the suburb of Liverpool, and reaching approximately Prestons.
- **Fowler:** Fowler should cede its Liverpool territory to Hughes and move north to cover the remainder of Fairfield City Council.
- **Blaxland:** Blaxland should move north to align with Cumberland Council, which did not exist at the time of the last redistribution. The seat would centre on Auburn, which currently lies at the north of the seat.
- Warringah: Warringah should cede Mosman LGA and its North Sydney LGA territory to North Sydney and extend further north into Northern Beaches LGA territory.
- Mackellar: Mackellar should extend southwest into Ku-ring-gai LGA territory. While there is a geographical divide between Northern Beaches LGA and Ku-ring-gai LGA, it should be noted that the state seat of Davidson bridges this divide already.
- Bennelong: Bennelong should extend east into Lane Cove and Hunters Hill.
- Parramatta: Parramatta should move north to align better with current Parramatta LGA boundaries
- **Grayndler:** Grayndler should be extended south and west to the Cooks River.
- Reid: Reid should be extended further south into the territory of Strathfield and Burwood LGAs

Table: Federal divisions to state divisions

Banks	East Hills	Oatley
Barton	Kogarah	Rockdale
Bennelong	Lane Cove	Ryde
Berowra	Hornsby	Wahroonga
Blaxland	Auburn	Granville
Bradfield	Ausum	Granvine
Calare	Bathurst	Orange
Chifley	Blacktown	Mount Druitt
Cook	Cronulla	Miranda
Cowper	Coffs Harbour	Oxley
Cunningham	Heathcote	Keira
Dobell	The Entrance	Wyong
Eden-Monaro	Bega	Monaro
Farrer	Albury	Murray
Fowler	Cabramatta	Fairfield
Gilmore	Kiama	South Coast
Grayndler	Newtown	Summer Hill
Greenway	Riverstone	Winston Hills
Hughes	Holsworthy	Liverpool
Hume	Goulburn	Wollondilly
Hunter	Cessnock	Lake Macquarie
Kingsford Smith	Heffron	Maroubra
Lindsay	Londonderry	Penrith
Lyne	Myall Lakes	Port Macquarie
Macarthur	Camden	Campbelltown
Mackellar	Davidson	Pittwater
Macquarie	Blue Mountains	Hawkesbury
McMahon	Badgerys Creek	Prospect
Mitchell	Castle Hill	Kellyville
New England	Northern Tablelands	Tamworth
Newcastle	Newcastle	Wallsend
North Sydney	North Shore	Willoughby
Page	Clarence	Lismore
Parkes	Barwon	Dubbo
Parramatta	Epping	Parramatta
Paterson	Maitland	Port Stephens
Reid	Drummoyne	Strathfield
Richmond	Ballina	Tweed
Riverina	Cootamundra	Wagga Wagga
Robertson	Gosford	Terrigal
Shortland	Charlestown	Swansea
Sydney	Balmain	Sydney
	1	Wakehurst
Warringah	Manly	vvakenurst
Warringah Watson	Manly Bankstown	Canterbury

Werriwa	Leppington	Macquarie Fields
Whitlam	Shellharbour	Wollongong

State district maps (for reference only – not submitted boundaries)



