



Suggestion 32

James Punch

The Redistribution Committee for NSW Australian Electoral Commission

Dear Members of the Committee,

I write to make a suggestion regarding the current redistribution of electoral divisions in New South Wales, specifically the Division of Paterson in which I live. My suggestion does not relate to the division's boundaries, rather its name.

Presently, the Division of Paterson is jointly named for Lieutenant-Governor Colonel William Paterson and poet Andrew 'Banjo' Paterson.

I wish to draw your attention to the *Colonial Frontier Massacres in Australia*, 1788-1930 project, created by the University of Newcastle and led by Professor Lyndall Ryan. The project's website can be found at https://c21ch.newcastle.edu.au/colonialmassacres/. It documents massacres of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people that occurred between 1788 and 1930.

One such massacre occurred in 1795 in the Hawkesbury Region. Details can be found at https://c21ch.newcastle.edu.au/colonialmassacres/detail.php?r=562. According to the project's website, William Paterson authorised a massacre of the Bediagal people in retaliation for the alleged killing of two settlers. This massacre resulted in the deaths of seven or eight Bediagal people.

In my view, it is therefore not appropriate for a division to be named for Colonel Paterson.

I suggest that if the Committee wishes to retain the name of Paterson, it should do so only in honour of Andrew 'Banjo' Paterson.

Yours sincerely,

James Punch