



Comment on objection 2

WA Labor

3 pages



Redistribution Committee Australian Electoral Commission By Email: fedredistribution-wa@aec.gov.au

30 April 2021

Dear Committee

Western Australian Federal Redistribution: Comments to Objections

Thank you for the opportunity to make comments on objections made for the Western Australian Federal Redistribution.

If you require further information or clarification, please contact me using the details below.

We look forward to seeing the final boundaries.

Regards,



Tim Picton State Secretary



🗰 walabor.org.au 📑 fb.com/walabor



Level 1, 22 Eastbrook Terrace, East Perth WA | PO Box 8117, Perth BC WA 6849 | 9328 7222 | info@walabor.org.au | ABN: 99 279 642 391

WA LABOR COMMENTS ON OBJECTIONS TO PROPOSED WESTERN AUSTRALIAN FEDERAL REDISTRIBUTION

WA Labor notes the large number of submissions made by organisations and individuals in response to the proposed boundaries.

WA Labor reiterates the comments in our most recent submission, that we support the majority of the draft boundaries as proposed by the Redistribution Committee (the **Committee**).

In WA Labor's submissions to the Committee throughout this process, we have outlined the important communities of interest that exist within the current Division of Cowan that should be maintained. WA Labor's submission on comments on objections reiterate some of these points.

WA Labor's comments on objections specifically relate to submission by the Liberal Party (Western Australian Division) (**Liberal Party**), which proposes to transfer:

- the suburbs of Lockridge and Kiara from the Division of Cowan to the Division of Perth; and
- the suburbs of Stirling, parts of the suburb of Osborne Park, Tuart Hill, Joondanna, Yokine-Coolbinia-Menora and Dianella from the Division of Perth to the Division of Cowan.

The alternative proposal by the Liberal Party means the proposed Division of Cowan looks much more like the current Division of Stirling, effectively abolishing the current Division of Cowan, and significantly redraws the boundaries proposed by the Commission in a way that splits the communities of interest that would otherwise be maintained in the Committee's draft boundaries.

Transfer of suburbs Lockridge and Kiara from Cowan to Perth

The suburbs of Beechboro, Lockridge and Kiara share many demographic similarities, and a clear community of interest exists across these neighbouring suburbs and should remain in the same Division.

These suburbs share many services, including The Meerilinga Children and Family Centre and Brockman Community House, which are both located within Beechboro and provide essential community services to families in Lockridge-Kiara. Community programs targeting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander families are accessed by families in Lockridge that make up 6.8% of the suburb population. To split these suburbs into separate divisions would be to the detriment of those communities.

Therefore, the suburbs of Lockridge and Kiara should remain in the Division of Cowan as proposed by the Committee.

Transfer of suburbs of Stirling, Tuart Hill, Joondanna, Yokine, Coolbinia, Menora, Dianella and parts of Osborne Park from Perth to Cowan

Morley Drive and Karrinyup Road is a logical southern boundary for the Division of Cowan to maintain its character as a northern suburbs division. The Liberal Party proposes instead to use Benara Road as the southern boundary. This does not serve as a natural boundary, as

residents in this cluster of suburbs typically cross Benara Road to access services and amenities far more frequently than they cross Morley Drive to the south.

The suburbs of Tuart Hill, Joondanna, Yokine, Coolbinia, and Menora form a cluster of suburbs that share communities of interest that are distinct to the suburbs north of Morley Drive and Karrinyup Road. These suburbs access services and amenities including shopping centres, health and education providers in neighbouring suburbs of Morley and Mount Lawley, which are in the current and proposed Division of Perth. They are markedly closer to the inner-city than anywhere currently in the Division of Cowan and share little in the way of demographic characteristics with suburbs like Girrawheen, Marangaroo, Mirrabooka and Balga that, in the draft boundaries, would make up the heart of the Division Cowan. To include these northern suburbs in the Division of Cowan would significantly alter the character of the electorate.

While we note the Committee's proposal to divide the suburb of Osborne Park is not an ideal scenario, it is unavoidable in order to preserve the communities of interest outlined above.

Therefore, the suburbs of Stirling, Tuart Hill, Joondanna, Yokine, Coolbinia, Menora and Dianella, as well as parts of the suburb of Osborne Park, should remain in the Division of Perth as proposed by the Committee.

Conclusion

WA Labor thanks the Australian Electoral Commission and the Committee for the opportunity to make comments throughout the redistribution process and asks the augmented Electoral Commission to consider WA Labor's objections and comments on objections when determining the final boundaries.

WA Labor also looks forward presenting at any inquiry the augmented Electoral Commission may hold regarding objections to the proposed redistribution and to the presentation of final boundaries.

WA Labor again acknowledges the challenges that come with the task of abolishing an electoral Division and commends the Committee for a proposal which largely maintains strong communities of interest across Western Australia and has limited movement of the majority of electors across the state.