



# Objection 3

Tim Barnes

2 pages

Thank you for allowing me to lodge an objection to the proposed 2021 Victorian Redistribution

I do not profess to be any Political or Psephological expert, just an interested onlooker, but upon reviewing the proposed 2021 Victoria Redistribution a couple of points stood out to me to which seem illogical changes

#### CHISHOLM, MENZIES, DEAKIN

In the previous AEC Redistribution of Victoria in 2018, Chisholm was redrawn, removing the southern end of the Electorate removing Chadstone, Oakleigh, Oakleigh East, Huntingdale & Clayton while adding Glen Waverley, Blackburn, Blackburn North and part of Nunawading.

The move was widely praised at the time, creating logical defined boundaries and including similar communities (for example – the Chinese dominated communities of Box Hill & Glen Waverley along with combining all of Blackburn, Blackburn North & South with clear dividers of Waverley Road in the South, Springvale Road in the East and Koonung Creek in the North.

And the final result was a to the untrained eye was a logical shaped Electorate representing a similar community.

However, the proposed 2021 AEC Redistribution undoes all of the good work from just 3 years ago, to create a 'dogs breakfast' of an Electorate.

Firstly, the North of the Electorate has been cannibalised by Menzies, jumping over its long held Southern Boundary of Koonung Creek to take part of Box Hill, Box Hill North, Blackburn, Blackburn North and Nunawading.

This has created the proposed boundary divider running right along Whitehorse Road. A more illogical boundary you could not find.

Box Hill itself has been split directly into two. North side of Whitehorse Road being Menzies and the Opposite Side Chisholm. Box Hill being a centralised hub, should not be split in such a bruteish way.

You now have the bizarre situation for example of Box Hill TAFE now located within 3 Electorates within walking distance of each other. One campus located in Kooyong, cross Elgar Road and another campus in Menzies and cross Whitehorse Road another campus in Chisholm.

As mentioned the removal of the Northern part of Chisholm into Menzies, does not make any logical sense. A natural divider for Menzies always has been Koonung Creek/Eastern Freeway/LGA boundary and it should remain this way.

The proposed redistribution also sees Blackburn split into three electorates (Chisholm, Menzies & Deakin) while previously all under one in Chisholm. Burwood East also gets split into two.

#### Recommendation

I am not one who is good with statistics to find and create the population balances required to generate Enrolled Electorate sizes, but will give a rough opinion.

- Menzies should not be allowed to cross over Koonung Creek to the South it should grow/contract north of that
- The Northern Section of Chisholm should revert to the 2018 Redistribution bound by Elgar Road in the West, Koonung Creek in the North and Springvale Road in the East with Box Hill, Box Hill North, Blackburn, Blackburn North, Blackburn South, Burwood East and parts of Forest Hill and Nunawading being retained in Chisholm.
- The Southern Section of Chisholm should see the boundary located along the Monash Freeway with Mount Waverley, Glen Waverley & Wheelers Hill included in Chisholm while the area south of the Monash Freeway – Chadstone, Oakleigh East, Clayton, Notting Hill and Mulgrave being retained in Hotham with a fiddling of the edges at Waverley Park bounded by Monash Freeway, Eastlink and Wellington Road and the area between Burwood Highway & Highbury Road to get within the

required enrolled quotas.

### **CORANGAMITE, GELLIBRAND**

The AEC has proposed to rename the Electoral Division of Corangamite (an original 1901 Federation Division) to the Electoral Division of Tucker on the reasoning the new Electoral Division of Tucker longer covers the LGA of Corangamite or Lake Corangamite.

While this may indeed be the case, there are a number of past and present examples which support the retaining of the name Corangamite despite it not have a physical link to the area.

#### Kooyong

Going back to at least 1993 (perhaps longer), the actual suburb of Kooyong in Melbourne has been located within the Electoral Division of Higgins, while the Electoral Division of Kooyong (an original 1901 Federation Division) has retained it's name.

Kooyong retains its name under the AEC's 'Guidelines for name federal electoral divisions' (1) as a Federation Division along with being an Aboriginal Name.

## Maribyrnong

Following the 2021 Redistribution of Victoria, the Electoral Division of Maribyrnong no longer contains the suburb of Maribyrnong or the LGA of Maribyrnong but has retained it's name.

The Electoral Division of Maribyrnong was formed in 1906 so is not classed as a Federation Division but however has an Aboriginal name.

So going by the AEC's own Guidelines and examples of Kooyong & Maribyrnong, there is no impediment for the Electoral Division of Corangamite to have it's name abolished (and to lose a piece of 1901 Federation history) even if there is no direct locality link to the name.

I note that in the Australian Labor Party's Initial Suggestion they suggested to rename the Division of Gellibrand to the Division of Kirner (after the Former Victoria Premier Joan Kirner). While the AEC rightfully rejected this suggestion as John Kirner has no links to Federal Politics. The ALP's suggestion to abolish the Division name of Gellibrand however is a good one and should be followed through on.

As the ALP's suggestion detailed, Joesph Gellibrand had links to John Batman and the Batman Treaty and his treatment of Indigenous people is up for debate.

A simple solution for the AEC to implement is to rename the Division of Gellibrand the Division of Tucker and retain the 1901 Federation Division and Aboriginal named Division of Corangamite. Ironically, the small township of Gellibrand is located in the exisiting Division of Corangamite.

## Recommendation

- Retain the existing name Corangamite for the proposed Electoral Division of Tucker
- Rename the existing Electoral Division of Gellibrand as the Electoral Division of Tucker
- (1) https://www.aec.gov.au/electorates/redistributions/guidelines.htm

Tim K. Barnes 22 March 2021