Step 5A - Inquiry into objections

Updated: 8 February 2016

An inquiry was held on Tuesday 27 October 2015 into objections to the proposed redistribution of federal electoral boundaries in Western Australia, as outlined in a report published by the Redistribution Committee for Western Australia on 21 August 2015. At this inquiry, the augmented Electoral Commission for Western Australia heard submissions on the following topics:

  • the boundaries of the proposed divisions, particularly in the following locations:
    • the proposed Cowan, Moore and Pearce divisional boundaries in Perth's northern suburbs;
    • the proposed Curtin, Perth and Stirling divisional boundaries in Perth's central/western suburbs;
    • the proposed O'Connor, Burt, Canning and Hasluck divisional boundaries in Perth's eastern suburbs;
    • the proposed Forrest and O'Connor divisional boundary at the Shire of Collie; and
    • the proposed Curtin and Fremantle divisional boundary at the locality of North Fremantle.
  • the name of the proposed new Division of Burt.

Topics raised in objections and comments on objections that were not heard at the inquiry were considered by the augmented Electoral Commission for Western Australia as part of its deliberations.

Six oral submissions were made at the inquiry held by the augmented Electoral Commission in Perth on Tuesday 27 October 2015.

No. Participant


Liberal Party of Australia (WA Division) Inc.

  • Andrew Cox
  • Jeremy Buxton


The Greens (WA)

  • Grahame Bowland


Donald Ian Bulloch


The Hon. Alannah MacTiernan MP


Hon Dr Sally Talbot MLC


WA Labor

  • Patrick Gorman
  • Lenda Oshalem