Enrolment projections

Updated: 7 December 2007

The statistics in this Volume are provided by the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC). They have been prepared for the information of persons or organisations interested in the 2000 redistribution of electoral boundaries for 15 House of Representatives Electoral Divisions in Western Australia.

The tables in this Volume show the electoral enrolment figures as at 23 December 1999 and projected enrolment figures at 31 March 2004, the projection time for equality of enrolments for the purposes of Section 63A of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918. The figures are given at the following levels:

  • Census Collection District (CCD)
  • Statistical Local Area (SLA)
  • Electoral Division
  • State

Following a recommendation by the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters (JSCEM) that the AEC and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) work together on enrolment projections, the ABS has supplied enrolment projections to the AEC using AEC enrolment data as the base. The ABS used a cohort-component method to project enrolment of each CCD to 31 March 2004.

Divisional Returning Officers (DROs) were asked to examine the ABS projections in the light of their local knowledge and experience, and to substitute their own projections where appropriate. DROs made use of information supplied by relevant local authority planning and statistical groups, as well as their own resources in undertaking this task. The Australian Electoral Officer for Western Australia also reviewed the projections, and any changes made by DROs, to ensure a consistent approach.

Statistics are given at the Census Collection District level, as this level is the smallest commonly used geographic building block. The CCD figures are aggregated to show the totals for Statistical Local Areas, which are comprised of a number of CCDs. Being somewhat larger than CCDs, SLAs may be more manageable for those who are interested in less detailed analysis. In most cases, the SLA is equivalent to the Local Government Area (LGA). Totals for each Division and the State are also given.

The type of SLA is denoted by a suffix. This is described in detail in the ABS publication Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC), 1998. Briefly, the SLA types are:

(B) Borough (C) City

(CGC) Community Government Council

(DC) District Council

(M) Municipality

(RC) Rural City

(S) Shire (T) Town

The statistics are shown broken down according to Electoral Division. Where a CCD or SLA crosses Divisional boundaries, the CCD or SLA concerned will be listed in each Division in which electors are enrolled. Only those electors resident in that Division are included in the figures for such CCDs or SLAs. To calculate the total number of electors shown in a split CCD or SLA, the component parts of the CCD or SLA from each relevant Division must be added together.

Two sets of enrolment statistics are shown. Figures are provided for 23 December 1999, which is the enrolment at close of business on the day the Australian Electoral Commission directed the commencement of the redistribution, and are the figures used for the Electoral Commissioner's determination of the enrolment Quota under Section 65 of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918. The Table on the quota page sets out the enrolment Quota information to apply for this redistribution. Projected enrolment at 31 March 2004 is also given.

A Growth (%) is also given. This is the estimated growth rate for the period December 1999 to March 2004. The growth rate shown in this Volume for each CCD is calculated by subtracting the actual enrolment from the projected enrolment, then dividing by the actual enrolment. The result is expressed as a percentage.

The first page of this Volume shows total numbers of CCDs, and the total enrolments and growth rates for each existing Electoral Division in Western Australia, as well as a total for the State. The subsequent pages show, for each Electoral Division, the name of each SLA in the Division, the identifier number of each CCD in the Division, the two sets of enrolment figures and the growth rates applicable to each CCD and SLA, with totals for the Division.

Maps of existing Electoral Division boundaries are available from the Australian Electoral Officer for Western Australia, 28 Thorogood Street, Burswood (Telephone 08 9470 7299). Maps of census collection districts can be obtained from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.


A semi-colon (;) delimited text file which includes enrolment and projected enrolment for each CCD in WA is available.

The file is sorted by electoral division and contains the following information:

Division Name;SLA Name;CCD Number;Actual Enrolment;Projected Enrolment

If technical difficulties are experienced in accessing this data, phone (02) 6271 4483.

Access to a personal computer with the software program, Electoral Boundary Mapping System (EBMS), that runs within the commercial software program MapInfo, will be made available to interested persons, at the office of the Redistribution Committee for Western Australia.

Bookings will be required for half-day sessions and can be made by telephoning (08) 9470 7299 during business hours (9am to 5pm). Some knowledge of the systems will be assumed and only a brief introduction can be offered. Access to this system will be available during the periods allowed for suggestions, comments on suggestions, objections and comments on objections.