Australian Electoral Commission

Profile of the electoral division of Sydney (NSW)

Updated: 11 August 2015
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
Currently under redistribution, new boundaries will apply for next federal election held after 25 February 2016. If an election was called and the writs issued before this date, a mini-redistribution would be required.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Sydney (2009) [PDF 203KB]
Map of the Division of Sydney (2009) [PDF 6.2MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after the city of Sydney, which was named in 1788 by Captain Arthur Phillip after Viscount Sydney, then British Home Secretary.
Area and Location Description:
Sydney covers an area of approximately 91 sq km from Port Jackson (including Sydney Harbour) in the north to Alexandria, Beaconsfield and Zetland in the south. Bounded in the east by South Dowling Street, Flinders Street, Oxford Street, Riley Street, Boomerang Place, Haig Lane, Sir John Young Crescent, Lincoln Crescent and Woolloomooloo Bay, the division extends to Annandale and Rozelle in the west. The main suburbs include Alexandria, Balmain, Beaconsfield, Birchgrove, Broadway, Chippendale, Darlington, Erskineville, Forest Lodge, Glebe, Haymarket, Millers Point, Pyrmont, Redfern, Rosebery, Surry Hills, The Rocks, Ultimo, Waterloo, Zetland and parts of Annandale, Camperdown, Newtown, Rozelle and the generic locality of Kings Cross which incorporates parts of the localities of Darlinghurst, Potts Point and Woolloomooloo. Lord Howe Island is in the Division of Sydney as are the harbour islands from Spectacle Island to the Heads.
Products/industries of the area:
Commercial, financial, retail, merchandising, service, transport, entertainment and shipping industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Plibersek, T (ALP) 1998–
Baldwin, P (ALP) 1983–1998
McMahon, J L (ALP) 1975–1983
Cope, J F (ALP) 1969–1975
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2013 federal election – House of Representatives results for Sydney
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Sydney
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Sydney
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Sydney
2013 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.