Media release: AEC invites written suggestions into the redistribution of federal electoral divisions in Tasmania

Updated: 2 November 2016

Members of the public are being invited to submit written suggestions about the redistribution of federal electoral divisions in Tasmania.

The Chair of the Redistribution Committee for Tasmania (the Committee) and Australian Electoral Commissioner, Tom Rogers said written suggestions must be received by the committee by 6pm (AEDT) Friday, 2 December 2016.

"Suggestions may refer to either the name of an electoral division, its geographical boundaries or both," Mr Rogers said.

"While the boundaries of the existing federal electoral divisions are being considered, Tasmania's entitlement in the House of Representatives remains the same with five divisions."

In making its proposal of revised electoral divisions, the committee must ensure that the number of electors in each division meets strict numerical criteria.

"In addition to the numerical requirements, the committee will consider communities of interest, means of communication and travel, and the physical features and area of the proposed divisions," Mr Rogers said.

The best way to lodge a submission with the Committee is via the AEC website at Suggestions and comments can also be submitted:

  • by email:;
  • in person: 2nd Floor, NAB House, 86 Collins Street, Hobart;
  • by mail: Redistribution Committee for Tasmania, GPO Box 520, Hobart TAS 7001; or
  • by fax: 02 6293 7660

The Committee will continue its consultation process by making all suggestions received available for public inspection from Monday, 5 December 2016. The public will then have until 6pm (AEDT) on Friday, 16 December 2016 to lodge any written comments they may have on the suggestions.

Editor's notes: