ACT Senators have been decided

Updated: 1 August 2016

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has announced that the count for the election of two Senators for the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) was completed today.

The successful candidates for the two Senate vacancies for the ACT are (in order of their election):

  1. GALLAGHER, Katy – Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)
  2. SESELJA, Zed – Liberal Party of Australia – ACT Division

The Australian Electoral Officer for the ACT Ian Gordon said the distribution of preferences was conducted today to elect the two ACT Senators.

"As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates," Mr Gordon said.

All 2016 federal election results are available in the AEC's tally room at

Declaration of the Poll

Mr Gordon said that the formal Declaration of the Poll for the 2016 election of Senators for the ACT will take place at 2pm on Tuesday, 2 August 2016 and will be held at Kings Hall, Old Parliament House, 18 King George Terrace, PARKES, ACT 2600.

All candidates and the media are invited to attend. RSVPs are not required.