AEC returns writs for the 2016 federal election

Updated: 8 August 2016

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) announced today that it had returned the writs for the 2016 House of Representatives and Senate elections.

Writs for all 150 House of Representatives elections and for the Senate elections in the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory were returned to the Administrator of the Commonwealth.

Writs for Senate elections in all states have been returned to the State Governors.

All 2016 federal election results are available in the AEC's tally room at