South Australian Senators have been decided

Updated: 2 August 2016

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has announced that the count for the election of twelve Senators for South Australia was completed today.

The successful candidates for the twelve Senate vacancies for South Australia are (in order of their election):

Successful candidates for the twelve Senate vacancies for South Australia
Order Candidate Party
1 BIRMINGHAM, Simon Liberal
2 WONG, Penny Australian Labor Party
3 XENOPHON, Nick Nick Xenophon Team
4 BERNARDI, Cory Liberal
5 FARRELL, Don Australian Labor Party
6 GRIFF, Stirling Nick Xenophon Team
7 RUSTON, Anne Liberal
8 GALLACHER, Alex Australian Labor Party
9 FAWCETT, David Liberal
10 KAKOSCHKE-MOORE, Skye Nick Xenophon Team
11 HANSON-YOUNG, Sarah The Greens
12 DAY, Bob Family First

The Australian Electoral Officer for South Australia, Paul Hawes said the distribution of preferences was conducted today to elect the twelve South Australian Senators.

"As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates," Mr Hawes said.

All 2016 federal election results are available on the AEC's tally room at

Declaration of the Poll

Mr Hawes said the formal Declaration of the Poll for the 2016 election of Senators for South Australia will take place at 2.00pm on Wednesday, 3 August 2016 and will be held at:

The Stamford Plaza Hotel, Crystal Room, Level 2, 150 North Terrace, Adelaide.

All candidates and the media are invited to attend. RSVPs are not required.