Media release: Candidates announced for 2016 TSRA elections

Updated: 5 July 2016

Candidates in the 2016 Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) elections to be held on Saturday 30 July 2016 have been officially announced today.

Returning Officer David Stuart said 20 wards in the Torres Strait are involved in the 2016 TSRA elections, with each ward electing one member to the TSRA board.

The candidates for the election are as follows:
Ward Candidate Name (in ballot paper order)
Badu Island 1. MORSEU, George Dennis
2. NOMOA, Manuel
3. STOW, Geiza
4. BAIRA, Horace
Bamaga 1. YUSIA, Patricia
2. SABATINO, Ilario
Boigu Island 1. BANU, Donald
2. PETER, Eric John
Erub Island 1. BEDFORD, Kenneth Reginald
2. GHEE, Isaac Francis David
3. SAYLOR, Chris
4. GELA, Jimmy Joe
Hammond Island 1. DORANTE, Seriako
2. GELA, Fred
Iama Island 1. KEPA, Jack
2. LUI, Getano (Jnr)
3. BANN, Billy
Kubin 1. KANAI, Garagu
2. MANAS, Louise Eileen
3. BOSUN, David
Mabuiag Island 1. FELL, Keith
2. REPU, Cygnet J.
3. WHAP, Frank J.
Mer Island 1. NOAH, Aven Stanley
2. HAVILI, Ofa
Port Kennedy 1. STEPHEN, Pedro
2. SAGIGI, Robert Bongo
3. AH WANG, Pauline
4. FUJII, Romina
5. DAVID, Frank
Poruma Island 1. FAUID, Frank (Snr)
2. PEARSON, Francis
St Pauls 1. LUI, Kiwat
2. PAIWAN, John
2. ABEDNEGO, John Stephen
3. KRIS, Ella
4. GELA, Saimo
Warraber Island 1. LUI, Willie
2. BILLY, Iris
"In the wards of Dauan Island, Masig Island, Ngurapai and Muralag, Saibai Island, Seisia and Ugar Island only one candidate nominated. This means voting will not be required in these wards as they are uncontested wards," said Mr Stuart.
Uncontested wards:
Ward Candidate
Dauan GAIDAN, Joel George
Masig MOSBY, Hilda
Ngurapai and Muralag LOBAN, Yen N.
Saibai Island ANIBA, Chelsea
Seisia ELU, Joseph
Ugar Island STEPHEN, Jerry Dixie
"All Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people living in the wards where elections will take place, and who are 18 years of age and over, can vote in the TSRA election if they are enrolled by 5pm on Friday 15th July," Mr Stuart said.

"If you need to enrol for the first time, or if you recently moved to any of these wards and haven't updated your address, you will need to complete an enrolment form and return it to the AEC by the deadline of the 15th July," he said.

Enrolment forms are available from any Australia Post office, AEC offices, the TSRA office, the Returning Officer and on the AEC website at

Polling booths will be open on Saturday 30 July in the wards of Bamaga, Port Kennedy and TRAWQ.

The AEC will conduct mobile polling for all contested wards in outer island communities. Communities will be informed of times, dates and polling places prior to the mobile polling teams arriving.

For information on voting on election day or for early voting options, visit the AEC website at or call 07 4051 7188.