



Objection 366

David Waye 3 page

From: David and Moira Waye FedRedistribution - VIC To:

Subject: 2018 05 04 David Waye - Objection to AEC Regarding the Redistribution of the Seat of McEwen.

Date: Friday, 4 May 2018 3:14:02 PM

2018 05 04 David Waye - Objection to AEC Regarding the Redistribution of the Seat of McEwen..docx 2018 05 04 David Waye - Objection to AEC Regarding the Redistribution of the Seat of McEwen..PDF Attachments:

Good afternoon

Please find enclosed my submission regarding an objection to the proposed changes to the boundaries of the Division of McEwen.

Regards

David Waye



SUBMISSION OF AN OBJECTION TO AEC REGARDING THE REDISTRIBUTION OF THE DIVISION OF MCEWEN

References:

- A. Redistribution Committee For Victoria, Proposed Redistribution Of Victoria Into Electoral Divisions, 2018
- B. Map of Proposed Federal Electoral Divisions of Ballarat, Bendigo, Casey, Corio, Cox, Flinders, Gorton, Lalor, La Trobe and McEwen

Introduction

This submission is an objection to the redrawing of the electoral boundaries for the Federal Division of McEwen, located in the State of Victoria, as proposed in Reference A, specifically, the transfer of the northern part of Mitchell Shire Council, as detailed in Reference A, paragraph 394 to the current Division of Murray. This submission is the opinion of myself only. I do not represent any community group or other interested party.

Relationship between Federal Electoral Boundary and Local Government Area

In paragraph 79 of Reference A, the basis for the location of the new Division of Fraser is given as follows:

"Redistribution Committee unanimously proposes the creation of a new electoral division in Melbourne's west, specifically around the local government area of Brimbank City Council, to be named the Division of Fraser."

Regarding McEwen, the entire Local Government Area of Mitchell Shire is currently contained within the Division. Refer to Reference B. A study of the new boundaries of McEwen and the proposed alterations will see a large amount of Mitchell Shire transferred to the proposed new area of the Division of Murray. This is inconsistent with the reasoning for the location of the new Division of Fraser, along with the rationale for the adjustment of the boundary between McEwen and Indie (see paragraph 395 of Reference A).

The new boundary will disadvantage Mitchell Shire in the following manner. While it will continue to be able deal via the Division of McEwen for Commonwealth services, such as grants, mobile phone 'black spots', etc, the northern part of the Shire proposed to be included in Murray will be disadvantaged. This disadvantage will be due to Mitchell Shire having to compete with those other four Local Government Areas contained in the proposed Division of Murray: Greater Shepparton, Moira, Campaspe and Strathbogie, diluting the amount of Federal support to the northern part of Mitchell.

Conclusion

My objection to the proposed change to the northern part of McEwen, by transferring the northern part of Mitchell Shire to the Division of Murray is based on the adverse impacts described above: Local Government Area, empathy with Urban Character, accessibility to elected representative, and the impact on the perceived value of McEwen.

It is requested that the Redistribution Committee reconsiders this alteration in such a way that Mitchell Shire and the electors resident in the northern part of the Shire are not so adversely affected.





04 May 2018